The infamous "line-in" on MBP can easily work as a mic-in

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by agent42b, Nov 1, 2007.

  1. agent42b macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #1
    So... I'm probably the millionth person to discover this... when buying a MBP the "line-in" can't work with regular headsets because it doesn't give any power (aka like a mic-in port).

    Then...hilariously I installed windows via bootcamp, and Apple's own windows driver allowed me to use a microphone in that port. That's right... I can use skype, play games, all with a microphone plugged into that port. The same mic that won't work under OSX, and it works just peachy.

    So... this proves it's NOT a hardware issue, it's a driver issue. The soundcard is perfectly capable of using a microphone through that port. The same mics that don't work under OSX.

    I love my MBP but that is just stupid. C'mon apple, enough with the oddities I'm sure it's not that hard to auto-detect the type of device and give it some amperage (like it does in Windows, using the driver that YOU supplied).

    /end of rant

    Now if anyone knew of a software patch, add-on, etc, that fixes the issue under OSX, that would be a godsend. I already bought a USB headset to use under OSX, but it really bothers me (out of principal) to need to use it after discovering this.
     
  2. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #2
    Ummmm, that software switch just adds more amplification to the input.
    Computer microphones are passive. The port will not supply power.:rolleyes:
     
  3. anirban macrumors 6502a

    anirban

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #3
    The MBP's audio input port is a line level port- which is not amplified. You need to use a line level microphone with it. You have to use a USB based microphone.
     
  4. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #4
    If it's not powered, how does it power my electric guitar?
     
  5. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #5
    Electric guitars don't need power, unless you have active pickups, which would then typically have batteries within the guitar it's self.
     

Share This Page