The ipod software update could not be contacted

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Packersfan27, Jul 11, 2008.

  1. Packersfan27 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    #1
    Just got this erro when trying to update to 2.0.

    It also says- Make sure your network settings are correct and your network connection is active.

    Haven't seen any other threads about this. What does it mean and is anyone else getting this?
     
  2. cuanurse macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #2
    Yeah a few of us are... not sure what it means.
     
  3. strausd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    ya i got the exact same one now. its like everyone is going through the same cycle
     
  4. countrykid333 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    #4
    same thing here.


    how many error codes are we going to go through???
     
  5. Packersfan27 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    #5
    I have a feeling that that just happened to everyone whos trying to update lol.
     
  6. BigCanoe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    #6
    Ditto, it keeps changing but never works.
     
  7. ridid44 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #7
    Seriously
     
  8. .michael macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
  9. Maxamillious Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #9
    It means that Apple is working on getting the 2.0 firmware to you as soon as possible and that people should stop creating threads each time Apple changes something retrospective to it's availability. ;)

    It's coming. Be patient. :)
     
  10. cuanurse macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #10
    No need to be condescending... people are just trying to figure out what the message means and if other people are getting it.
     
  11. Packersfan27 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
  12. jaykel23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #12
    same here...at least the error message keeps changing...this means they are working :D
     
  13. Packersfan27 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    #13
    It didn't show the error box this time :D.

    Showed some big boxes, had to agree with some stuff and... now my itunes screen is frozen :eek:.

    Meh, its a start :p

    edit- oh wait, its downloading!
     
  14. cuanurse macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #14
    is it? My "tried" to download but quit and now it is back to the "my software is up to date."
     
  15. Packersfan27 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    #15
    It downloaded!

    Now its gunna restore it hink

    edit- it looks stuck at "preparing ipod for restore"...
     
  16. Maxamillious Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #16
    ^ It's not working on my end but it's good to know that you successfully downloaded it. That can only be a sign of good things to come!

    Not trying to be. My apologies. The number of new posts and threads is just a little overwhelming, is all. :)


    No apology necessary. I however, good sir, am sorry for appearing condescending.
     
  17. Packersfan27 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    #17
    It didn't work. It did manage to brick my ipod for the second time of the night though...
     
  18. 2late2be macrumors member

    2late2be

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #18
    what do you have to do if ipod is bricked?
     
  19. Packersfan27 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
  20. Packersfan27 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    #20
    DFU and resotre. But it's not working this time...
     
  21. TonyTwoTimes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #21
    apple!!!!

    nothing works! it came out today and no one was able to get it. i had no jailbreaking done on my touch, all of it is legal, i baught the 20 dollar update and was looking forward to this one, i have a bunch of apps downloaded already ready for the update and i cant get it, it should be free after this
     

Share This Page