The iPod Touch 4G is supposed to have 256MB of Ram, but mine can barely reach 90.

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Firearm2112, Mar 23, 2014.

  1. Firearm2112 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    #1
    I am well aware that the iPod Touch 4G is supposed to have 256MB of ram, but when using ram checking applications, and a cydia tweek (NCRAM) I can barely get 60. I have had the iPod since it launched, but have taken good care of it. Anyone have any idea what is going on? Anything I can do?

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    But, your iPod screen shows that you have about 60 MB available.
    It doesn't show how much is already in use (and you show a couple of items on that same screen, which would be taking up some memory.
    In other words: you have about 60 MB available for use (or free), but other software, like the operating system, is using up the rest of the memory. So, subtracting 60 MB not being used from 256 gives you about 196 MB that is being used at this moment. (196 + 60 = 256 total)
    Does that make sense to you?
     
  3. Firearm2112 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    #3
    Wow. That actually makes a ton of scene. I just never saw it that way. Any way to increase that 60 MB? I have seen other ipods same gen as mine, with ram 90-100. Thanks again.
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    I suppose you could close Twitter, and see what happens to that memory amount (should increase)
    If another iPod touch is set up exactly like yours, with the same apps, then the memory available should be similar, too.
     
  5. Detrius macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #5
    I'll tell you the same thing we've been telling people since OS X first came out in 2001: free RAM is wasted RAM. It's RAM that could have been used to cache something so that it doesn't have to be read from disk (flash) later. Don't fret over free RAM.
     
  6. knightlie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #6
    Agreed. The new "Memory pressure" gauge in Mavericks' Activity Monitor is the best thing I've seen for understanding memory usage - it's not how much you have free, it's how much apps are fighting over it.

    ----------

    Why do you need to increase free RAM? See Detrius' post...
     
  7. $M.H$ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    #7
    ----------------------
    I got 159 MB on my iPod touch 5 {iOS 7.0.4}
    And it has 512 MB of RAM ,, that because I am using a lot of Cydia tweaks nearly (32 tweak)
    :D
    So it shows the FREE RAM not the whole RAM
    Sorry for my English ,, I am learning :D
     
  8. Lixxer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    #8
    @$m.h$

    So you registered here just to make uselesss posts? :D
     
  9. Espeonia macrumors member

    Espeonia

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    #9
    I've got the 4g, too. Upgrading to OS 6 was a bad decision, for me. It uses around 20-50 MB more in ram for me, adds no new apps, and overall gives me nothing. My only problem is that now there are a couple tweaks that are OS 6 compatible but not with 5… *sigh*. I'm probably going to get a touch 6g if it comes out, anyway, though.
     
  10. ProcyonDurandal, Apr 27, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2014

    ProcyonDurandal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    #10
    I have a similar problem. I have a jailbroken ipod touch 4G iOS 6.1.6. (jailbroke just to find a solution to this problem), and according to the System Utilities Dashboard (bought from app store even before I jailbroke) I have a free memory of 9 Mb out of a total of 248 Mb (shouldn't be 256 Mb?).

    Also indicates I have an active memory of 33%, wired 40%, Inactive 16% and free memory of 11%. What does that mean?

    The situation is that the newer/actualized apps (e.g. Facebook) just crash to the springboard, while older ones doesn't (like NOVA 2).

    I downloaded cydia tweaks designed to free RAM, but still got very low free RAM. How can I create virtual RAM memory? Is it possible to install new hardware (new physical RAM or storage memory) to an ipod?

    I have considered Removing LaunchDaemons and Creating Virtual Memory, but I'm not experienced in that kind of stuff and the tutorials I found are for older iOS.
     
  11. MartinAppleGuy macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #11
    Download BatteryDoctor from the App Store. It has a section dedicated to free'ing up RAM and gives me around 80-100Mb on my 4th gen iPod on iOS6.
     
  12. spyguy10709 macrumors 6502a

    spyguy10709

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    One Infinite Loop, Cupertino CA
    #12
    Those apps are like snake oil. They literally do nothing, and lie about doing it.
     

Share This Page