The latest iMac 27"

Discussion in 'iMac' started by thomash88, Nov 7, 2013.

  1. thomash88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    #1
    Hi there!
    I'm looking to buy 27inch haswell iMac. I just have a few questions, I will buy the 8gb and put in 32gb myself. Which ram-chips should I buy? Corsair? Crucial? Kingston? I don't know!

    Thanks in advance, guys :)
     
  2. insimbi macrumors 6502

    insimbi

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    #2
    I'm planning on doing the same at some point. I've always had good luck with Crucial's memory with my Macs.
     
  3. alksion macrumors 68000

    alksion

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles County
    #3
    I am bias to G. Skill or Corsair.
     
  4. Old Muley macrumors 6502a

    Old Muley

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Titletown USA
  5. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #5
    As much as it pains me to say this, I actually suggest Samsung. Samsung is the OEM memory used by Apple themselves.
     
  6. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
  7. alksion macrumors 68000

    alksion

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles County
    #7
    They both are and one other manufacture if I'm not mistaken.
     
  8. michaelsviews macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #8
    I've always gone with what ever macsales.com has and or Crucial and NEVER had a problem :)
     
  9. ragtop232, Nov 8, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2013

    ragtop232 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #9
    I can unequivocally recommend Kingston HyperX. I just upgraded my late 2013 iMac with 32gb of Kingston HyperX 16GB Kit 1866MHz DDR3 PC3-14900 Non-ECC CL11 1.35V Low Voltage. Here is the link to Amazon Kingston HyperX Memory.

    Another benefit is this RAM is running in my iMac @1867MHz.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #10
    Hynix, Elpida and Samsung.
     
  11. PsykX macrumors 6502a

    PsykX

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    #11
    Just did that in October. Bought from OWC on emacsales and it works great :)

    ----------

    Sweet... why doesn't Apple put 1867 MHz in their iMacs though ? Must have a reason...
     
  12. alksion macrumors 68000

    alksion

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles County
    #12
    Wow, I didn't know 1866MHz RAM runs on the new iMac. Is it completely stable? Even though my 2013 iMac comes in tomorrow, does 1866MHz work on the 2012 as well?
     
  13. thomash88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    #13
    Wow, so the iMac actually runs 1866MHz memory? I used to have Kingston ram on my windows machine, and Kingston works like a charm
     
  14. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #14
    Wondering too.
     
  15. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #15
    I wonder if it's just reporting 1866MHz (as per the RAM module specifics) or if it's actually running at 1866MHz.

    Although even if it is, it's worth only about a 2-3% speed bump in real-world situations.
     
  16. ImAlwaysRight macrumors 6502a

    ImAlwaysRight

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Location:
    Always in the right place at the right time
    #16
    Yes, it's running at 1866MHz. It is a function of the processor. Haswell is capable of 1866 so you put in 1866 memory it will run at that speed.

    I've done this for years with the i7 processors. Started with my 2009 iMac which was a 1066MHz system that came with 1066MHz RAM, but popped in 1333MHz RAM and it ran at 1333MHz. (Also tried 1600MHz but that just ran at 1333 because the i7 processor in that model can't run any faster.)

    Also put 1600MHz RAM in my 2011 MaBook Pro 2.5GHz i7, which is rated at 1333MHz by Apple and came with 1333MHz RAM. 1600MHz runs like a champ.

    Again, it all depends on the processor. I have two sets (one Crucial and one Mushkin) of low voltage 1600MHz RAM in my new 2013 iMac i7 3.5GHz, because I already had it on hand. I was just looking at the Kingston 1866 and glad to see a user report that this is working fine. Now I have to decide if it is worth reselling my 1600MHz RAM to buy the 1866 or if I should just stick with the 1600 modules that are working.
     
  17. PatriotInvasion macrumors 65816

    PatriotInvasion

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  18. appleluck macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    #18
    1867 is faster 20 % ?

    i would buy it, i got the crucial already 32gb
     
  19. josh bear macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #19
  20. magamo, Mar 9, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2014

    magamo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    #20
    No. The manufacture's website says it's 240-pin DIMM, which is typically for desktop computers. For 2013 iMac, you need RAM for laptops (more specifically 204-pin SO-DIMM). Here's the official specification for your iMac: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5908

    There's one thing you might want to consider before buying RAM for your iMac though. According to Apple's official document, any typical PC3-12800 DDR3 204-pin SO-DIMM should be fine. But if you look at the internet, there are a ridiculously large number of reports from uses who experienced kernel panics after installing 32GB RAM that run at 1.5v. And in most cases, the problem is gone after switching to RAM labeled as 1.35v (or after switching to 24GB or less). So, if you are going to install 32GB, if I were you, I would stick to a safer one, like those that run at a lower voltage or are known to work with 2013 iMac.

    I have no idea where you can get RAM cheaper in UK, but the one I'm using can be found on amazon.co.uk:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/G-Skill-Ripjaws-1600MHz-SO-DIMM-channel/dp/B00EOTYZOA/

    I have two pair s of them (so 32GB in total) on my 2013 iMac without a problem. It looks quite expensive in UK though...

    In any case, 204-pin SO-DIMM RAM is typically listed as laptop memory. And those that run at 1.35v are often labeled as low voltage models.
     
  21. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #21
    As mentioned above, the RAM you linked to is incompatible desktop RAM. Definitely do go with DDR3L (1.35 V) compatible. As another option, this Crucial set is the RAM I am using in addition to 16GB of Apple stock RAM for 32GB with no problems.

    RAM seems to be as expensive in the UK as it is here in Japan. Check out Amazon USA (search for CT2C8G3S160BM for the same set) as it may be cheaper even including import taxes and shipping. It was for me.
     

Share This Page