The MBA and the one or two computer dilema, help me decide

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by entatlrg, Jun 9, 2009.

  1. entatlrg macrumors 68040

    entatlrg

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
    #1
    I posted this here in the MBA forum, because this is primarily what this post is about.

    I was able to return the 15" MacBook Pro I bought at Best Buy almost a month ago, no questions asked. So, now with the updates I can go computer shopping again :)

    I don't travel often but still I found the 15" MBP little cumbersome, heavy and big.

    I'm looking to decide on my main 'go with me everywhere' computer. I also have a HTPC strictly for downloading, entertainment etc so I'm all set in that area.

    I've tried working from two computers and I don't like it, I want one main computer, sycning two is a pain ....

    My reason for buying the 1.8/128ssd revB MacBook Air was the size, it's fun and easy to use anywhere. The MBA does do everything I need it to do, but compared to the MBP or iMac in our office it's a little choppy/blurry playing back video such as yesterday's WWDC Keynote for example. The fan runs a little more than I'd like when doing moderate to heavy tasks.

    I think I've already answered my own question, but if the 15" MBP was a little larger than I'd like and the RevB MBA is a little sluggish or loud during a few tasks then the new 13" MBP is the solution, hook that up to my 24" ACD when I need a larger monitor and I'm all set.

    BUT, I don't want to part with my MBA :( That's the hard part, I want to use only one computer and I want to make the MBA work, but I'm not sure I'm being realistic... the faster processor, ram etc will surely make a huge difference...

    I could always use the MBA as a netbook / coffee table computer for my wife and I to share in the evening, but then I'm going back to 2 computers again.

    See the MBA for me is bad, lol, its been the thing holding me to using two computers to do all my tasks, it's so so hard to part with an MBA once you've owned one.

    Still, I'm thinking the heck with it, I'll make MBA work put up with the choppy video and fan noise, but then again maybe the new 13" MBA is the real answer.

    I'll likely end up ordering the new 13" MBP and I'll still be using two computers again, the 13" MBP will get hooked up to the 24" ACD and be used as a desktop, the MBA will be carried in my bag and used everywhere else, the two computer thing again.... I have to snap out this MBA trance, that many of us are in :), and go by a computer that truly suits all my needs and that's likely the 13" MBP ... but then you've got the hassle of plugging/unplugging the cables everytime you want to hook up the monitor, LOL

    How do you guys fit in your MBA, is it your main computer or secondary?

    Thanks
     
  2. 929406 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    #2
    I have a very similar set up as well and the same dilemma. One computer simply cannot satisfy all needs so I will buy the newly released MBA to go along with my UBMBP 15". I also have a Dell mini 9 running OSX so I should have all size, uses and price points covered
     
  3. entatlrg thread starter macrumors 68040

    entatlrg

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
    #3
    lol, I know the feeling.

    What will you use your 15" MBP for and what will you use your new MBA for?

    What do you do on the 15" that the MBA can't do?
     
  4. 929406 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    #4
    yeah when i purchase the MBA it will be the 5th mac between my wife and myself! I have a 500 GB HDD that I store all my photos in on my MBP and all that is backed up to TM and Super Duper so I will not be able to store much on the MBA. I also like to edit pictures and occasionally HD video so I presume that will be a stretch for the MBA.

    Also I backup everything via external storage via FW800 so won't be able to do that. I will most likely set up my Airport Express to automatically backup wirelessly with TM for the new MBA.

    Perhaps sync everything via Mobile Me? any thoughts?
     
  5. entatlrg thread starter macrumors 68040

    entatlrg

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
    #5
    - check out sugar sync, you may like it more than mobileme

    - sounds like you're going to use you new MBA as your main machine except for a few heavier tasks?
     
  6. 929406 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    #6
    just waiting on some fellow uses to buy the new model and report back before pulling the trigger, in my area it list as shipping within 24 hrs. Just want to ease my concerns about the line and hinge issues know in the past
     

Share This Page