Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Kajje

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Dec 6, 2012
Asia
I have been using my MBr for a couple of months now. I do like the machine, it has a great screen, has better speakers than most other (big and small) laptops around, fantastic touchpa, it's light and just a beautiful appearance overall.

The cpu sometimes could use a bit extra umph and the battery life reminds me of my pre-mac era. And the keyboard... The keyboard is just a plain pain to use.

The keyboard again... I do a lot of typing and after many years of using the MBP I've switched to the MBA a couple years ago. While many users don't feel a difference I definitely felt the MBA had a bit less key travel, but not enough to bother me more than a couple of days. The MBr keyboard was something else. I hated it from day one, I just couldn't get used to it. I'm writing this thread after many months of usage, and still I hit a lot more typos than ever before. It is rubbish and I was already making plans to switch back and buy a new MPBr.

But then a friend bought a new MBPr 15 and asked me to assist him with his first steps in the world of Mac. I do support people finally seeing 'the light' and soon after I found myself behind his fresh smelling MBPr.

What happened next baffled me. The old keyboard felt... old. Key spacing was way too wide, key travel felt unnatural and typos entered the fresh new display at a rate never seen before.

Switching back to my MBr keyboard I still produce typos. The real, unprecedented mother-child love relation with my keyboard is not there yet. But I do not, never, ever want to go back to the old style keyboard.

If the new MBPr 13 comes with the new style keyboard, I'll be the first in line to get myself one.

Reactions: Jetcat3

asfalloth

macrumors regular
Dec 4, 2013
London