The More I Use It The More I Am Convinced The 24" IMac ...

Discussion in 'iMac' started by harcosparky, Mar 8, 2008.

  1. harcosparky macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #1
    Is one heck of a machine.

    I gave up a G5 Powermac to get the money to buy the 24" iMac and was concerned I might regret it. ( had I read the neg posts here first I might not have purchased it )

    I love the machine, it has far surpassed what I expected of it.

    It has done so well we are moving more and more of a workload over to it ! ! !

    Oh yeah, I once had a G5 iMac, before the Powermac, and this new Aluminum looks beats that all white one hands down !!!!!!!

    So far I have not found a single item to comment on in a negative way!!!
     
  2. MatWith1T macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #2
    My G5 powermac has been gradually sending more and more signals to me that its on its last legs... been forcing it on a death march until the iMac revisions come, and then I am making the jump too. (Though now I will have an extra monitor... iMac's can't support triple-display by any chance, right?)
     
  3. gibbz macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #3
    While I have a new Octo described in my signature for research, the 24" iMac will be my next home desktop. It is the most striking design I've seen. The Dell XPS One is a joke. I currently have an original 17" core duo iMac and I can't wait to get the 24".
     
  4. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    I intend to buy a Mac Pro by the end of the year, but in the interim, my 24" Al iMac has served me well since Launch Day. :cool:
     
  5. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #5
    Already??? I can see my 24" 2.8 iMac lasting for at least 3 years, i need it to live for 4 years, then, i know for sure I'm getting a MacBook Pro.
     
  6. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #6
    Being a converted windows user (three days ago now) I'm really enjoying my new iMac but it seems to freeze up A LOT more than my HP ever did. I tried using the camera in iMovie last night and it completely locked up. It's really frustrating having to force quit programs constantly and sometimes I'll have the spinning pinwheel on the upper menu bar so I can't even do that.
    Why am I getting the feeling that this new Mac is inferior to my two year old Windows laptop? :confused:
     
  7. harcosparky thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #7
    We have never had a problem with native Mac Apps freezing up, and I can't recall specifics of having to force quite anything, though I am sure it has happened.

    You say you have been on it for 3 days .... I suggest you make sure EVERYTHING is up to do via "Software Updates"

    I just created a 3 minute clip using the built in camera and iMovie.

    In addition to iMovie I had the following apps open.

    1) Safari Web Browser - downloading a movie to play on Quicktime
    2) iTunes - syncing movies to Apple TV
    3) Entourage email client
    4) Quicktime - playing movie as it downloads form Safari
    5) Aperture
    6) iPhoto

    I noticed no problems making the video clip.

    NOTE: The iMac came with 1 Gig Ram - I added 2 Gig for a total of 3

    TWO QUESTIONS:::

    1) How mach Ram do you have installed?????

    2) Do you have an EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE connected up?????




    When we made our conversion three years ago, we made one concession to MS in that we installed the Mac version of MS Office.
     
  8. eRondeau macrumors 6502a

    eRondeau

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    Canada's South Coast
    #8
    Right there with you, sir! I've had my 24" 2.8GHz iMac for about three months now and I absolutely LOVE it! Perfect right out of the box! While awaiting delivery I also was worried it would be too: big/bright/glossy/hot/noisy; that the screen would be awash in every color except the intended one; that the keyboard would suck; that the Mighty Mouse would be awful and unusable. But in fact my iMac is PERFECT in EVERY WAY. Apple did this one right.
     
  9. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #9
    I took it home with the 1 Gig of RAM that was included and have no external hard drive. Should I?
     
  10. Morod macrumors 68000

    Morod

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Location:
    On The Nickel, over there....
    #10
    Exactly right you are too, sir! I bought this 24" 2.4GHz iMac from the local Apple Store 2 months ago and have not looked back! Every time I sit down to this fantastic keyboard I get a smile across my face as I know I am about to experience computer bliss. What took us so long? There was just a bit of trepidation on my part laying down the bucks for this as I had been a lurker for a while on these forums and saw some people with some problems with their iMacs. Thankfully I have none of them and truly enjoy every minute here, as opposed to the wrestling matches I would get in with my old PC.
    Mazel Tov!
    Morod
     
  11. pazreal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #11
    The 24" is indeed a stunning machine. It served as my home entertainment center as well as every other need I have it. I've recently moved to a MBP to consolidate my computing experience from a MB and iMac for ease of use in my particular workflow/lifestyle. As a result the alum 24" I have is up for sale if anyone is interested, PM me.
     
  12. harcosparky thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #12
    First off, I would increase the ram. Get a 2 Gig memory module, install that to give you a total of 3 Gig. That should make a big difference! :D
     
  13. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #13
    Is that something you do yourself or do you have to take it to Apple to have it installed? How much does an extra 2 Gigs of RAM go for?
     
  14. harcosparky thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #14

    It is a do-it-yourself thing.

    I bought my memory from Best Buy it was on sale and somewhere around $100-$120 if I recall correctly.

    Instructions to install are in the manuals and probably somewhere on here as well.
     
  15. tsd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #15
    Man, you should not have to install more RAM to have a usable machine. You may very well have a lemon. It happens. I mean, anytime a human creates something, it's going to be imperfect, no matter how great a manufacturer they are. I would suggest you first make sure you're up-to-date with Software Update (in the Apple menu), and try to duplicate the problem. If it happens, call Apple Care (1-800-APL-CARE). This is the best part of being an Apple customer, and it's why Consumer Reports LOVES Apple. Their customer support will blow you away as a fresh PC convert! You get free phone support and in-house repairs for ninety days with every new purchase, whether or not you buy the Apple Care Support Plan.

    Your machine IS superior to every previous computing experience you've ever had. You made the RIGHT choice buying that iMac! Unfortunately, computers are made by God, so every once in a while a really screwed-up one gets into somebody's hands. Make Apple fix it.
     
  16. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #16
    Yeah, the 1920x1200 resolution on the 24" is great, and the new displays seem to be alot brighter than the previous (white) generation matte display. I have a 20" iMac 2GHz now...but I just purchased a 30" Cinema Display and planning to purchase a Mac Pro to use with it soon (using my MacBookPro now with it)

    Still, I love the 24" iMac, I think it's a great all-round machine...

    BUT, if thinking about buying a new iMac at the current moment - I would hold out till the next generation of possible quad-core iMacs come out, they may come equipped with better video cards, maybe a 30" model, who knows. The only reason I say this is because we are due for a new refresh of the iMac lineup any date now.
     
  17. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #17
    Ram Sale

    This week, my local best buy has 2 gig notebook sticks for $66 bucks or something like that. Grab one of the folks at the apple kiosk and ask if it will work...
     
  18. cheeseadiddle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #18
    I've had my 2.8 since October and I love it! Bought the 20" at the same time. I hope to get four years out of this too before I get the next mac.
     
  19. Olvenskol macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #19
    Assuming you have a stock 24" iMac, it absolutely should handle iMovie with no noticable problems. Yes, more RAM will make it more responsive, but you should not be locking up or getting the spinning ball anything other than rarely.

    My stock 20" iMac takes a ton of abuse from my kids running iMovie and filming the craziest stuff with every special effect they can find. It hasn't ever locked up in 5 months of daily use now. I have some occasional glitches with Safari thinking the internet is unavailable for one of the four users typically logged in, but logging off and back on solves that one. I think I've rebooted the machine maybe once a month or so, if that.

    If you are getting daily lock ups on a new machine, I'd seriously consider taking it back and having it looked at / replaced.
     

Share This Page