The New MacBook Air-My first Mac

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Jumpman6, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. Jumpman6 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #1
    Long time lurker, first time poster.

    This evening, I'll finally leave the PC world behind and enter the Apple family with the purchase of a MacBook Air (just haven't decided which size yet...).

    My question to the more informed is this; I have 80gigs worth of iTunes media, my pictures, and my documents all on a 2TB external hard drive.

    Will said external hard drive be recognized by the Mac and thus run my iTunes media?

    If not, I'd like some suggestions because I will not run nor store my media, pictures, or documents on the Air's storage.

    Thanks a lot.
     
  2. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #2
    Yes, the Mac can read an external drive formatted for Windows. It can't natively write to a drive formatted as NTFS, though (only FAT 32). There are utilities you can download to enable writing to NTFS.
     
  3. TheAllStar macrumors member

    TheAllStar

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    #3
    Welcome to the others.
     
  4. Jumpman6 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    What do you mean by "write"?
     
  5. Adidas Addict macrumors 65816

    Adidas Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #5
    If you downloaded a movie on your MBA you wouldn't be able to move it to the external.
     
  6. Jumpman6 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Okay then. How then do I move my content from a PC external HDD to a Mac formatted external HDD?
     
  7. Jumpman6 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Couldn't I just get a Mac formatted external HDD, plug it to my PC, transfer everything over, then hook that to the Air?
     
  8. Adidas Addict macrumors 65816

    Adidas Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #8
    Yes no problem
     
  9. Eclipse278 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    #9
    No, if it's "mac-formatted", that means it's HFS+, which Windows can't read and write to. What you need is an external usb drive formatted in FAT32. That's the only file format that can be read and written to natively by both OS's. It has some file size limitations though.

    You can use Disk Utility in OS X or windows format and format any disk into FAT32.
     
  10. Jumpman6 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #10
    Stupid me, I just actually checked and my external hard drive is already formatted in FAT 32.

    And I just checked about the file limitations. A file size of 4 gigs is the max. Correct?
     
  11. PBG4 Dude macrumors 68000

    PBG4 Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #11
    2GB is the max for FAT32.
     
  12. ks-man macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #12
    I see his drive is FAT formatted, however if it wasn't, what he could have done was connect his Mac and PC through a network. Then with the PC formatted drive connected to the PC and the Mac formatted drive connected to the Mac he could transfer the files across the network. This would take a while depending on the network speed, but is certainly doable. I think his initial post said there were 80GB of data which would take about 3.5 hours with a 50Mb throughput or probably one full night over wi-fi.
     
  13. Jumpman6 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Well, between pictures, music, and movies, I have a few digital copies over 2 gigs.
     
  14. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #14
    No, the OP is right, the max file size is a little less than 4GB.
     
  15. Jumpman6 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #15
    Well, checked a few more places and it says 4gigs is the max file size for FAT 32...in which case I only have one file that size.

    All the same, thanks for the responses. I'm going with the 13' Macbook Air.

    My long nightmare is over...
     
  16. BittenApple macrumors 6502a

    BittenApple

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    #16
    Congratulations on your new MacBook Air purchase! I'm sure you will fall in love with the machine once you get it in your hands.

    You should have no problem transferring your data, plug it in and start using your data.

    What I like to do is have a HFS+ partition on my external in case I ever need to transfer files that are bigger than 4GB's. Disk Utility (In your Utilities folder) allows you to resize partition without having to erase data.
     
  17. bamf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #17
    It is indeed 4GB (well one byte less than 4GB).
     
  18. PBG4 Dude macrumors 68000

    PBG4 Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #18
    Oops, my bad. FAT has a 2GB file size limit while FAT32 has 4GB minus one byte limit. Sorry about the misinformation. :eek:
     
  19. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #19
    Of course, the nice thing is the Air has 2 USB ports now, so you can plug both into the Mac.
     
  20. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #20
    Nice. That's the one I'm ordering, too. Do you plan to run Windows on it (using Boot Camp)? If so, I'd suggest going for the 4GB version.
     
  21. Jumpman6 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #21
    No. Will not be running Windows on it. I'll run Microsoft Office...and that's only for my wife.

    I'm completely switching over.
     
  22. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #22
    Grats :)
     
  23. Loonytik macrumors 6502a

    Loonytik

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #23
    Ok so wait....

    I have a 500GB external hard drive that I use for backups and to just store things I don't want on my laptop full time. From what posters here are saying I can't use that drive with the new MBA? I have to buy a different drive to use it with the MBA?
     
  24. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #24
    Are you switching from Windows to Mac?

    If you aren't then no, if you are then you have 3 options to choose from...
     
  25. bowlerman625 macrumors 68020

    bowlerman625

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL area
    #25
    Congrats!


    Once you go Mac, you never go back!!!!!
     

Share This Page