The New Macbooks vs. The Previous Generation

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by laravia18, Nov 2, 2007.

  1. laravia18 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    #1
    My curious nature lead me to answer this question. Since the new macbooks can hold up to 4GB of memory, can the old ones do the same if you were to install the memory yourself. If not is it the new graphics card that makes the macbook possible to go up to 4GB?

    Oh and can you remove the macbook graphics card and replace it with the new one? Not even thinking about doing it myself but if you want to future proof your machine this seems like the more logical solution!
     
  2. masse macrumors 6502a

    masse

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Location:
    MA/GA
    #2
    The old ones do not support 4 gigabytes of ram. It does however support 3 gb of ram. The new ones are the santa rosa chipset which can utilize up to 4 gigabytes of memory. So while you could physically put 4 gb into an old macbook, it would not address or use all of the memory.

    Always buy and install ram yourself. It's much cheaper.
     
  3. thies macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    #3
    no
     
  4. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #4
    Well, if you were you would also have to replace the rest of the logic board. And since they are usually quite expensive, you are better off just getting the new one.
     
  5. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    how did you do that :) sounds cool
     

Share This Page