The option to boot Bootcamp has disappeared

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by milomak, Jul 6, 2017.

  1. milomak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #1
    I recently updated Paragon NTFS for Mac to v15.

    While trying to relink my Dropbox (which is on the NTFS drive), my iMac crashed and rebooted. This has now led to the Bootcamp icon being missing when I press the Option key when booting up.

    I am still able to fully access the NTFS drive and the files on it. Bootcamp does not appear in System Preferences --> Startup Disk

    I am running latest version of Sierra
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Google "repair Win10 bootloader"
    That should help get your Windows booting again.
     
  3. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #3
    The Startup Disk preference pane only displays NTFS partitions when using OSX native NTFS drivers. That's one of the drawbacks of Paragon NTFS. So this is perfectly normal.

    https://kb.paragon-software.com/article/204

    Are you saying it used to work even with Paragon NTFS installed? I'm not sure how that could be.
     
  4. milomak thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #4
    I had not noticed before as I don't remember trying to use the function

    I take what you say as what it is
     
  5. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #5
    Okay, if that's the case, then yes this is normal. Use the utility as discussed in the linked Paragon support page.

    Also, if you have boot screens, I recommend using rEFInd. It is extremely fast compared to holding down OPTION/ALT.
     
  6. milomak thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #6
    i've had issues with rEFInd. To the extent I had the following exchange with the guy who did it

    Me
    Code:
    I have a problem where refind doesn't load the native resolution for my
    Mac 4k (5120 x 2880).
    
    It loads it as 3840 x 2160.
    
    How can I get it to load the native resolution?
    Him
    Code:
    I don't know. I've seen similar problem reports from others, but I have
    no hardware of this type on which to test and debug. I believe it's
    fundamentally an OS X driver problem, but obviously, rEFInd does
    something to trigger this bug; I just have no idea what it might be, I'm
    afraid.
     
  7. milomak thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

Share This Page