The *Powerbook G3* Thread

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by skinniezinho, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. skinniezinho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #1
    I've seen lots of thread about "loving" the various mac models,and what about the good and old powerbook g3?

    This week I got an 333MHz "Lombard" in very good cosmetic shape,wonly without HDD!
    It amazes me how a laptop could be so customizable.

    Unfortunetly I don't have a charger for it to see if it runs,but asap I'll get one and put this thing on working order with os9 :)
    Show yours too!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Some Links

    Powerbook G3 on wikipedia

    Lowend Mac Powerbook G3 "Kanga" Guide

    Lowend Mac Powerbook G3 "Wallstreet" Guide

    Lowend Mac Powerbook G3 "Wallstreet II" Guide

    Lowend Mac Powerbook G3 "Lombard" Guide

    Lowend Mac Powerbook G3 "Pismo" Guide

    WiFi PC Cards for PowerBooks Running Mac OS 9

    WiFi PC Cards Compatible with PowerBooks Running OS X



    :eek: [​IMG] :apple:
     
  2. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #2
    I've got a 1998 Wallstreet 233MHz. Aside from the appearance, its kind of a POS to be honest. I got it basically brand new (probably less than 15 hours of use on it) and the stupid thing is basically good for nothing more than OS 9. The graphics card does NOT play well with OSX at all and 233MHz is horrifyingly slow even with 384MB of RAM. I'm pretty sure it was also built using lead and bricks because it weighs in at 7.8lbs which puts it up there in the "luggable" category as far as I'm concerned. I'd really have liked to get my hands on a Pismo just to have a PB G3 that is actually usable and more mobile. Aside from those problems, the screen is much nicer than the clamshell and the speakers are loud.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Macdctr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #3
    I have a Pismo that I got from an eBay auction. I have had this wonderful laptop for over 6 years now and still use this today...:D Initially when I got my Pismo it had a 400Mhz G3 processor which I immediately upgraded to 500Mhz G3. Later on I was lucky to get the rare 900 Mhz G3 which did not perform well due to overheating issues. I now have a G4 550Mhz processor inside, upgraded memory to 1Gb, a 120Gb hard drive and Dual layer 8X DVD slot drive burner installed. I still love this laptop and use it frequently for internet/emails...:apple:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Slix macrumors 6502a

    Slix

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #4
    Eeeh! I used to have one of these! I loved it to death, but we sold it when it was actually worth a little bit. I guess it worked out, since the money was put towards my iPod touch... But I still miss it.
    Not sure how much ram/Mhz ect it had, but it ran 10.4 just fine. A little slow, but fine. I used iTunes, played games that were pretty CPU heavy, like Creatures 3, and went on the internet with it.

    Ah... How I wish I still had it. XD
     
  5. ediflorianus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    #5
    I have a G3 Clamshell with a load of problems (I cannot install any OS on it's unbereble keep's panicking at OS startup . Changed HDD and Optical unit no luck.

    And I also have a G3 700 or 800 12 inch white ibook with a 4 hour autonomy (lolz i keep it on for weeks just by closing the lcd) the only problem it has (don't know why , it was cheap (may be the reason) the shadows on lcd are not black but red like ATi :D some visual effect .... maybe from the card or drivers , Changed the OS to 10.3 but no luck , the same happens , IT DOES NOT BATHER ME , IT's more coool this way :p I love it. I wish it good luck so it will run for ever'
     
  6. dmr727 macrumors G3

    dmr727

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #6
    I don't really think it's such a bad computer - OS X on *any* 233MHz machine is pure madness, IMO.
     
  7. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #7
    Thats why its strictly OS 9. Its too slow, and the video card and OSX don't work together hardly at all.
     
  8. Thomas Harte macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    #8
    I've just obtained one of these, having never before encountered one. I have to say, it feels like a much higher quality product than the Titanium Powerbook that was my very first Apple. I'm a bit confused though: mine is a 333Mhz machine with OS 9.2 and a DVD-ROM, but unwilling to play DVDs due to a lack of decoder hardware. Was there originally a PC Card or something like that for DVD watching?

    I'm sure I could find a software decoder somewhere, but I'm guessing performance would be inadequate. And don't worry, I'm not that bothered about watching DVDs, just curious.
     
  9. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #9

    Some of the older G3 PowerBooks needed a DVD decoder PC card to play DVDs properly. This was sold in a kit with a DVD-ROM drive as an upgrade package for the PowerBook G3. I think the 333MHz one lacked the DVD-decoding hardware while the 400MHz had it onboard. The 233, 250, 266, 292, and 300MHz PowerBooks needed the DVD-decoding hardware card to be able to play DVD movies. I think with OS X everything was done in the software though. The DVD decoder card was only for playing DVDs in OS 9.
     
  10. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #10
    and they are getting hard to find. some show up on ebay, but for crazy money. likeTHIS one for example. nice pictures anyway.
     
  11. max¥¥ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Over there....
    #11
    If you can find the graphics chip, put a metal or cardboard shim between the gpu chip and the case, the ibooks have many graphics chip problems and i have found this can lead to the os panicking on startup
     
  12. mkjj macrumors 6502a

    mkjj

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Liverpool
    #12
    I have a Clamshell with OS install problems, traced to a bad RAM chip, replaced and all was fine.
     
  13. ediflorianus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    #13
    the memory is onboard , I will try the GPU trick ' I'll be back with more details and photos . tnx.
     

Share This Page