The Right iMac Set-Up For Me?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by macphoto44, Dec 27, 2011.

1. macphoto44 macrumors newbie

Currently have

2007 15' MacBook Pro
    2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
    NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT 256 MB
    Mac OS X Lion

Ideally want to upgrade to

27-inch iMac
    3.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
    4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB (plan to upgrade to 16GB on my own)
    2TB Serial ATA Drive + 256GB Solid State Drive
    AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2GB GDDR5

I'm a recent college grad and no longer have the luxury of using the school's Mac Pro computers and my MBP is only capable of internet browsing at this point, so I've been saving up to fund my own iMac purchase. By all means I am not a hardware guy so while I know this set up that I'm looking to purchase is certainly loaded, I'm not exactly knowledgable of each of the components I'm adding on and if they are 100% necessary.

My basic wants and needs are to be able to work in Photoshop and Final Cut Pro 7 without any lags. While I'm working I typically have iTunes running and a browser with at least 4-5 tabs open and stream a lot of content online. My photo files range from 300mb-1GB (hi-res film scans) and only grow in size as layers are added. Video work is HD, and while I am fairly new to video, the work is slowly starting to pick up and becoming more intense. I'm looking for a machine that will last 4-6 years while I begin to establish myself. While all these specs may be WAY more than what I need currently, photo and video just keep growing and I want a machine that will be able to keep up with the technology (and the technology I can get my hands on the more I work) say 3 years from now. Is it safe to say that I should be okay with this set up? As I learn and experiment more I'm sure I will take on more programs under my arsenal. Will this type of set up be hard to resell later on if I choose to upgrade?