The right Mac for a musician and graphic designer

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Morpheu5, Jul 22, 2007.

1. Morpheu5 macrumors newbie

Hello, I'm a PC. :)

I'm a musician, a graphic designer and a CS student too. I worked with PCs since I was 5 or 6 but now I'm at the turnaround: my old PC broke for unknown reasons and I definitely decided that I will not waste my time and money fixing it again. The point is that I really need a computer for my job (multimedia, music, graphics, videos and so on).

So I decided to switch to Mac but I have some questions for you. I firstly considered buying an iMac but a friend of mine - who already owns one - said that it wouldn't be enough for my usual projects (they're pretty big). So I started looking at Pros while my wallet had a heart attack.

What I'm wondering is if I buy a relatively cheap mac pro (say the smallest one or such) will I be able to upgrade it later? I'm not just talking about RAM but also processor, video card... is that as simple as buy and replace, do I have to take the Mac to an Apple tech lab or is that impossible? Is it possible to go from a dual core to an 8 core?

I'm very confused about this since I'm quite experienced with PCs but I'm relatively new to Macs and I really don't know an expert to ask.

Many thanks and greets :D

2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

CanadaRAM

Upgrades

RAM - Easy
    Hard Drive - Easy
    Video card - Easy but expensive as most standard PC cards don't work
    CPU - Difficult to impossible. Not recommended except for the obsessed and highly risk tolerant.

3. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

Hi there... I'm also a print designer and buy all the Macs (PowerMacs and MacPros) for our workplace as well. They're expected to have a four year life on the frontline for the designers, then another four as servers.