the rmbp is a powerhouse, wow

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by henrikrox, Feb 21, 2013.

  1. henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #1
    Hello

    I got my rmbp yesterday, its such a nice computer

    I just fired up dmc devil may cry

    1680x1050, all on high, everything maxed, overclock to 1035mhz/2750

    Solid 60fps. And it looks so awesome.

    Ah, im in love.
     
  2. Arnezie macrumors 65816

    Arnezie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #2
    They are sweet machines , love mine no slowdowns on any programs yet.
     
  3. iAppl3Fan macrumors 6502a

    iAppl3Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
  4. walkie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
  5. Engali macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    #5
    Honestly, it worked well for several months and now it's having issues. I got my rMBP (2.6ghz, 512gb, 8g ram) in July and it could run WoW at Ultra settings at about 22-24 fps. Now it still can, but about half the time it will struggle and literally be at 4fps. I have to put it on Fair settings to get to the mid-20s frame rate when this occurs.
     
  6. xShane macrumors 6502a

    xShane

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    Strange. My MBP can run WoW at almost all high, and some maxed settings, and get a solid 90-96+ fps.
     
  7. swerve147 macrumors 6502a

    swerve147

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #7
    Resetting your SMC should help
     
  8. noiseordinance macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #8
    As the above user said, reset the SMC. I would add that you may need to reset it several times from what I've read (just hold the buttons down and let it restart a few times). It makes the difference between your GPU running at 270 and 900 MHz. The difference is night and day.
     
  9. mykem macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #9
    Do you by any chance O/Clocking the rMBP? If you are, you can expect reduction in performance over a period of time.
     
  10. bill-p macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #10
    It's Apple's problem:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1452267

    I think someone needs to run an article about this issue so that Apple would take notice.

    If push comes to shove, I can storm into their HQ as well (they're about 1-hour from where I live), but I'm hoping to avoid that.
     
  11. henrikrox thread starter macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #11
    yes im glad im in the club.

    expensive but so worth it, i just love it. all though i only had it for 2 days. its the best computer i ever owned.

    tried battlefield 3 today also with same clocks. 1680x1050 almost solid 60fps all the time, with everything on high preset. its so amazing, and it looks so good on the colorful screen.
     
  12. Engali macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    #12
    No.

    I'll try resetting SMC
     

Share This Page