The Search Forums input box

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by aaronvan, Jan 1, 2014.

  1. aaronvan Suspended

    aaronvan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    República Cascadia
    #1
    The words Search Forum... are ghosted; however, they stubbornly remain there when inputting--I mean inserting--my search terms. So, I have to select/delete them before typing my search terms. Kind of annoying. Same thing in Firefox.

    Any possibility this is a settings issue with my computer or it is a coding issue?
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    I'm seeing the same thing here on 10.9.1 with Safari 7.0.1. I have no adblocker on or anything that would cause this.

    Below is the result of clicking in the search field and typing in "test".

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Shrink, Jan 2, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2014

    Shrink macrumors G3

    Shrink

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    New England, USA
    #3
    Just to add a little more data regarding the phenomenon...

    I do have AdBlock, Ghostery, JavaScript Blocker, and DoNotTrackMe...and I, too, am experiencing the same effect as posters above.

    Edit: Sorry...neglected to mention OS X 10.9.1 and Safari 7.0.1.
     
  4. noisycats macrumors 6502a

    noisycats

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Location:
    The 'ham. Alabama.
    #4
    same

    same thing here on Windows7 and IE 8 (don't ask).

    So frustrating to have to select and delete every letter prior to entering search.

    Ghosted words should disappear on typing.
     
  5. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    Guys, this problem was reported before, and arn told us that the cause is a little bit of JavaScript that's returning a 404 Not Found error at the moment when the site tries to reference it... if my memory is correct. ;)
     
  6. aaronvan thread starter Suspended

    aaronvan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    República Cascadia
    #6
    I don't know anything about JS but doesn't that sound like an easy fix??
     
  7. wrldwzrd89, Jan 3, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2014

    wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #7
    In theory, yes. In practice, no - MacRumors uses a CDN to deliver such content, and it's been known to act up sometimes.
     
  8. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
  9. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #9
    The search box is present, yes... but is the JavaScript code that clears out the ghosted text when the box is clicked working? That's the problem here.
     
  10. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #10
    The words "search forums" doesn't clear out in the site feedback sub-forum but it seems to clear out in the main forums when it reads "search site". And it's clear in the spy also.
     
  11. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #11
    Interesting... sounds like the CDN's being wonky.
     
  12. Apple fanboy macrumors Core

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #12
    This was really annoying me earlier as I'm on the iPad tonight. Glad I'm not the only one.

    Is this also why the search function is invisible to all newbies? :D
     
  13. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #13
    No, no problem with your computer. It's possible that it is an invalid path to a .js file.

    I know that it was no problem on older versions of the MR forum.

    ----------

    It's easy. Copy the .js file to a protected server, which is always available. Problem solved.
     

Share This Page