The "seleted" icon is missing after upgraded to Sierra 10.12.2 beta

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by airlied, Nov 10, 2016.

  1. airlied, Nov 10, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2016

    airlied
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    airlied

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #1
    I don't know how to call this, the icon that indicated "this item is being seleted" in some pop-up menus is missing and replaced by a question mark.

    Plz see the pics.

    スクリーンショット 0028-11-11 14.06.34.jpg スクリーンショット 0028-11-11 14.14.50.jpg

    It's not just the system's default software. It is missing in every apps including third party apps.

    I know that a reinstallation of the OS would have good chance to fix this issue, but everything else is running fine ans smoothly. I dont think it is worth doing a reinstallation for just fixing this tiny (but annoying) problem.

    I guess perhaps the icon image file is broken or corrputed during the installation. But if you know what happened please tell me thanks.
     
  2. fisherking
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #2
    generally, there's no icon there at all, just the line you selected has a color highlight... so, not sure where that question mark is coming from. boot into recovery, run first aid... or, simply reinstall the OS perhaps. am not seeing that at all here (also on 10.12.2)...
     
  3. airlied
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    airlied

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #3
    Yes there supposed to have a littke check icon in front of the fonts.
     
  4. fisherking
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #4
    there are checkmarks in some places, but most selections simply highlight. either way, an OS reinstall is probably your only real option.
     
  5. airlied
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    airlied

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #5
    This is totally insane. I just did a reinstallation, downgrading to sierra 10.12.1. the question mark is replaced by a checkmark. But when I upgraded to 10.12.2 beta 1 and beta 2, the question mark reappears.
    I just shot a bug report to apple but I dont think they care about this......
    [​IMG]
     
  6. fisherking
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #6
    working fine here in the latest beta. try creating a test admin account, see if the problem's happening there (or if it's unique to your account)...
     
  7. airlied
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    airlied

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #7
    lol Just did that, the test admin account works just fine, the check mark is there, i think it's just my account...

    Thanks for the suggestion!
     
  8. fisherking
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #8
    huh. interesting info, but wonder what the fix is. a language file? such that, that symbol is missing somehow in your account... this one's beyond me, but at least you have more info.

    anyone?
     
  9. airlied
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    airlied

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #9
    Oh I think I just found the reason of this.

    I created a new account then logged in, everything is fine the checkmark is there, then I started installing applications that I already have on my regular account to the new account.

    After each installation I first open it once then reboot the OS. and it seems that parallels desktop 12 is responsible for this issue.

    Once I uninstalled parallels, the icon went back, then I gave it another try, after installation the icon was replaced by question marks again,

    And it happens only on 10.12.2 beta. everything is fine on 10.12.1.
     
  10. DeltaMac
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #10
    That issue might be fixed by an update to Parallels.
    But then, many developers may wait until the next (dot) update for macOS final version, where the issue may be fixed either by Apple, or in this case, an update to fix Parallels.
    As you are running macOS beta versions anyway, can you live with something like the (?) for a reasonable time, now that you know the likely source?
     
  11. airlied
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    airlied

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #11
    Yeah I think this is fine, comparing to the huge performance boost beta offers the ? is just a minor issue. I use Siri on 10.12.1 it lags and responses very slow but this is fixed in beta 3. and the overall performance like mission control animation improved a lot. I think apple have done some remarkable work here.
     
  12. fisherking
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere

Share This Page