The Settlers 7 - Path to a Kingdom

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by nilka, Mar 25, 2010.

  1. nilka macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #1
    This game was just released this morning, and I have been waiting for it for a long time and bought it as soon as I could. Now I have run into a problem. The game really doesnt work. Even mor funny is it that when you start up the game you get a warning that it is meant to run on 10.6.3 which yet has to be released.
    My problem with running this game is in the graphical bugs, and as 10.6.3 is bringing a lot of openGL additions I hope this will be fixed as soon as it is out.
    I really want to have som time with this game this easter

    I run an iMac i5. If anyone has come up with a soloution please tell me.

    Njáll
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Have you emailed or otherwise contacted Ubisoft support about the issue?
     
  3. nilka thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #3
    I have of course sent them an email, but as almost all game-developers support channel they take forever to answer. I hope that they will email me back, but my guess is mayebe in a month. When it comes to game-makers I have never had any good experience. My best is with Blizzard, and they normally take 2-3 days to answer, and the answer is almost always "have you tried this" (1-2-3 steps thats in a faq easily accessible on their support site, which you already in your email told them you had tried)

    So seems I just have to wait and see :(
     
  4. Kimbie macrumors regular

    Kimbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I for one will not be buying this, on the PC or Mac, as you need a constant internet connection to play their games

    Kimbie
     
  5. alkar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    #5
    @nilka : can you confirm that the mac version needs constant internet connection too to play it in single player ?
     
  6. Quetsche macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    #6
    WTF is this? so you can't play it, if for example, you go on holidays with your laptop and don't have an internet connection? :confused::eek::mad:
     
  7. Kimbie macrumors regular

    Kimbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Bingo!!

    Assasins Creed 5, Silent Hunter 5 both from Ubi need a constant internet connection as does C&C4 if you lose it your game pauses and wont resume until you get your connection back.

    Granted this applies to the PC side of things, maybe with Apple gaming being a niche market they might not do it, but I do not expect them to make an exception.

    Kimbie
     
  8. bobsbarricades macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    #8
    word. Ubisoft is really going at the pooch on this one. =P The only people that get penalized are the ones that buy it, not the people that steal it
     
  9. Kimbie macrumors regular

    Kimbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Yeah its crap, however its a disturbing trend that I think others will follow
     
  10. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10

    I want it, but likewise will not buy unless the DRM and nonsense of permanent internet connection is done away with.

    Anyone who as going to download a pirate version will have done so already as proven with Assassins Creed 2. Those that are penalized are legitimate purchasers.

    I will not be dictated to how i must play a game, by a company who are asking for me to part with €$£. A real case of biting the hand that feeds you.
     
  11. nilka thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #11
    Not that this thread is about the DRM in the game, but yes I can confirm you need a constant internet connection to play even single-player.
    Its a horrible idea and way to treat you customers. Still I would like to hear from other people that have this game if they have the same issues as me.
     
  12. glmjjb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #12
    Yes, you need to connect to internet in order to play.

    Trouble.

    1) I live in Hong Kong, it took me more than 5 hours to download the patch before the game can start.

    2) Get stucked with the server checking (finally remember to set DMZ server then problem solved).

    3) finally can "get into" the game, start the game...but then lots of bugs, no way to play a game at all.
    >champion, stucked at the 1st game, can't build anything.
    >quick game, can finally start to instruct to build a house, but before the construction starts, it hang up again (you can actually move around, but just the settlers don't move, not just myself, I see the computer player have the same problem)

    This is a good game, just the game developer is suck.

    I am on MacPro 15". 10.6.2. (and YES !!!!! when the game starts it said it requires 10.6.3 !!!!! which is NOT released !!!!!)

    Hope that once 10.6.3 is released I can finally "PLAY" the game...

    damn... being busy for a week, want to buy a game to relax, but then this game give me hours of work to do but still get stucked....what the hell...
     
  13. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #13
    There isn't really a Mac version, it's just the PC version running under Cider. So anything that applies to the PC applies to the Mac (plus Cider bugs).

    --Eric
     
  14. Padraic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Somewhere between here and there...
    #14
    So has anyone upgraded to 10.6.3 yet and tested to see if this works?
     
  15. nilka thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #15
    I have tried it now, and it works very well when it comes to the fixing of the graphical errors. The only problem now is that ubisofts servers are so unstable I cant get to play for more than a couple of minutes before getting kicked out.

    I am quite terrified when I actually notice how restricting this DRm is, god forbid they ever go bankrupt cause then all their games will be useless.

    I must admit until they change theri DRm I will not buy any other game from them.
     
  16. Macmon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #16
    trouble with video card

    It says that my graphics card does not have enough dedicated video memory space. What does that mean?! Oh, and I'm also running on a mac OS X 10.6.3. Please help. Answer as soon as you can please. ( never mind i found out. Thanks for reading though. DANG!!)
     
  17. Zanzimac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    #17
    Ok, to sum up..

    1. It requires an update to OSX not currently available.
    2. It doesn't work anyway.
    3. It requires a constant internet connection but kicks you off its own servers.

    Is all or any of the above correct? I can't see a mac version anywhere on the Ubisoft site so I'm assuming the OSX version issues apply when you run it within OSX but not when you boot up windows on your mac (?).

    My wife really wants this game but I'm concerned it's not worth the grief.
     
  18. Padraic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Somewhere between here and there...
    #18
    1. It requires 10.6.3 which was released a couple days ago.
    2 & 3. Ubisoft chose to implement a version of DRM that requires a constant connection with their servers, without a constant connection the game will not run. Also, if their servers go down the game won't run.

    Sadly, from what I understand the OS X version of this game is really the windows version run through cider, so any problems that you would have under windows you would have under OS X plus any problems introducted by cider. I was hoping it was a native version, I would have bought it if it was.
     
  19. Zanzimac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    #19
    Ok thanks.

    Crazy plan on Ubisoft's part, surely...a bit like Murdoch's idea to charge for online news.

    God help us all if either model takes hold.
     
  20. -Ryan- macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #20
    I watched a video review of this game this morning and was going to head up to the Apple Store to buy it. Let me just say I will not be buying it, now or in the future, since you guys have notified me about these problems. That is abysmal! Why the hell would anyone think it is ok to force you into a constant Internet connection just to play a game? :mad:
     
  21. 0makol16 macrumors regular

    0makol16

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    Diamond Bar, California
    #21
    anyone know how well this game will run on a MacBook with the specs in my sig? thanks
     
  22. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #22
    ^ it should run. Id your laptop 'permanently' connected to the internet though? If not it will not run at all.
     
  23. airwalke macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    #23
    I remember playing Settlers 2 back in the day and having a lot of fun with it... I was amazed that they're already up to the 7th installment! And was just about to buy it until I saw that exact problem -- the DRM that requires constant internet connection.

    I suppose the rationale that there's almost always a way to connect to the internet these days no matter where you are, but that's assuming a lot that a) your IP is not having any issues that day, b) Ubi's servers are not having any issues that day, and as a minor issue c) there are still people out there that don't have regular access to the internet.

    This would be a much easier pill to swallow if games were cheaper as a compromise for the DRM. But 50 bucks to a company that still treats me like a thief before I even have a chance to commit a crime is poor customer relations. It'd be like being patted down at security check points for hidden cameras or non-concession stand food at a movie theater when you buy a ticket, enter the theater, and just as you're about to sit down... as well as during periodic checks during the movie and after you leave.

    I kind of doubt anyone from Ubi will be reading this anytime soon, but I hope that if they eventually do, they know that customers do not want this. Perhaps they could adopt a similar system to Apple's music store. Charge ~30-35 dollars for the version of a game with the DRM that limits how many copies can be installed or constant internet connection, and charge the full 50 for copies without any DRM beyond a serial number and a one time online activation to verify the serial number.
     
  24. FidelC macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #24
    Hey now (1st post!)

    I bought the game yesterday, seems like a pretty fun game. Nice graphics and extremely complex, so it's a game that really needs some attention to master it.

    I'm playing it on the iMac 27" (3,06ghz c2d, 4gb ddr3, HD4850) and there's one problem. The sound's really choppy. It lags every 5-10 seconds or so, and the synch when there's videos are off by 2-3 seconds. Anyone else having this problem?

    First I thought it was because I had pretty high settings, and that the game couldn't load the sound properly if it's busy rendering graphics, but that doesn't seem to be the problem neither.
     
  25. FidelC macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #25
    I'm so retarded. It was the loading that was causing all these sound problems, just put down my resolution a couple of notches and it worked. I had 2560x1440 or whatever the max resolution is on the 27".

    Cheers anyways.
     

Share This Page