The Sims 2: Is it worth buying?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by vanilla87, May 6, 2008.

  1. vanilla87 macrumors newbie

    vanilla87

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #1
    I have a new macbook pro 10.5.2. I keep seeing people talking about the sims 2 and it works and it doesn't work. I'm just wondering if its worth buying the $42-45 game, cause i don't want to shell out the money unless my system is 110% compatible to use and not a waste of time.

    I have a 2.4GHz, a GeForce 8600M GT Video Card, 256MB of memory, and 126.5GBs of space on my macbook pro.

    I've checked with the aspyer game agent application on my desktop to see if it should work, it says it should, but I'm skeptical of that. If someone with great insight can help me, that would be amazing! I need some answers soon, so I'm not wasting my time. thank you.
     
  2. ergdegdeg Moderator emeritus

    ergdegdeg

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #2
    Apart from the technical things, you might consider this interesting: Sims3
     
  3. vanilla87 thread starter macrumors newbie

    vanilla87

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #3
    I've known about the sims 3 for over 6 months. Its going to be completely different then the sims 2 to the point of the people you create not even looking similar to what the sims 2 look like. everything will look more realistic. Which is why I'm interested in the sims 2 while its still good with all it has to offer as a game.
     
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    well i really cannot see why it wont work.

    even under parallels it would probably run ok. and under bootcamp, it would be jsut marvelous, even on high settings
     
  5. vanilla87 thread starter macrumors newbie

    vanilla87

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #5
    I prefer to not use bootcamp, mostly due to the viruses and bugs that windows has and dare not want inside my new mac, no matter how protected a mac is, once you add in windows, its not that safe anymore. So with that I intent to keep it all mac based programs. That is why I'm concerned about using the sims 2 on an intel based mac, with all the comments people make about how it works and then it doesn't on their leopard, makes me unsure about the product to begin with. I would have bought the sims, but i wanted more space on my computer, so I waited, then I waited too long due to the fact with all this craziness about the intel is funky with certain things, unlike the G4, which is good, the G5 is still adjusting to some of these products if they are not universal, which I believe the sims 2 original is not, but who knows, maybe it'll work, till someone can give me the low down on actually experiencing the same type of computer i run with the same platform, with all the same stuff, then I'm just going to keep on being skeptical.
     
  6. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    aahh ok thats fair enough, thats your decision to make.

    even though i would probably say that your mac partition is just as safe even with bootcamp installed, hell you could probably even turn off your wireless/unplugg ethernet while on bootcamp if u really wanted to hahaha.

    your call but, and im sorry i have no info on the mac version of the sim 2.
     
  7. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    '

    lol

    Viruses don't get into your OS X partition. Just use the Bootcamp partition to play games and thats' it. Don't be ignorant.
     
  8. txhockey9404 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #8
    I have a 20" Aluminum iMac 2.0 with 1gb ram and am running the Sims 2 and Sims 2 Open For Business. I only have 2 complaints about this version of the game, as I used to play it on my old windows computer. The first is that for some reason, not all custom content will work if gotten from a site other than the official Sims 2 website. Also, I had a weird issue where in build and buy modes, the screen would turn baby blue and would get in the way of any building, but a reinstall fixed that.

    Given you are on a faster computer, I would strongly recommend this game because I can run it on almost all high settings on my computer with very little sacrifice in speed.

    It actually runs faster on the iMac than my better specced windows pc
     
  9. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    your running the windows version, the OP was after a mac version
     
  10. digitalnicotine macrumors 65816

    digitalnicotine

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    Do you have a bootcamp partition on your MBP? Honestly, I prefer the windows version of Sims 2 over the Aspyr ported version. It runs quite well on a windows partition, and I have an older MBP than you do (2.33ghz version). If you don't have the partition running XP already, than perhaps you can find a used Mac version on eBay or Amazon marketplace, but I wouldn't pay full price for it. You may be satisfied with it's performance, but I wasn't. Good luck to you. :)
     
  11. txhockey9404 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #11
    No I had both versions. I sold the Windows version as I dont have a bootcamp partition or a VM.
     
  12. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    aahh my mistake, i should have jump to conclusions sorry. have you had a chance to see how it run on a VM? it should have been OK seeing as though they run pretty decent these days, and the sims wouldnt be all that intensive, mainly CPU stuff..
     
  13. txhockey9404 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #13
    No I havent had a chance to try it on a VM because I'm not quite ready to drop the money to buy Windows for the very little use it will get.

    So, to the thread starter, if you already have a copy of Windows, I would get the Sims 2 for Windows because
    1. it is cheaper
    2. expansion packs are released faster for Windows
    but if you do not have a copy of Windows for boot camp, I would go ahead and buy the Mac version because you do not have to reboot and the differences between the Windows and Mac versions are only that the Aspyr name shows up at startup, not all custom content works, and there is not as much community support (patches etc).
     
  14. slowpoke macrumors regular

    slowpoke

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #14
    So I'm assuming this is the first time you've used a computer. Make sure you don't turn it on in the same room as someone with a cold; your MBP might catch it and then your inbox will be filled with viagra spam.

    Sims 2 works fine, but it's overpriced as ****. The game's been out for nearly four years and there's still not any kind of collection for expansions. Talk about bleeding the consumer.
     
  15. DouglasP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    #15
    We own the Sims 2 and my daughter plays it every way. It never has given her an issue. It has me though, when I need my computer I need to send her own the way!
     
  16. txhockey9404 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #16
    To completely answer the original question, it will work, because your computer meets all the specs, and with your computer you can also run multiple expansion packs with very little if any sacrifice in speed.

    I do recommend closing unneeded programs while playing (safari etc) because they will take up memory that could make the game run faster.

    If my slower computer can run it without problems, yours can run it for sure
     
  17. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #17
    To answer the OP, yes your specs are great for Sims 2. I have it (mac version) with multiple expansion packs on my MBP and it runs fantastic. I've used a lot of customs content and they all work fine.
     
  18. iPapa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #18
    I have the Mac version of The Sims 2 (no expansion packs). I ran it perfectly on almost maxed out settings on my G5 iMac 2.1GHz. I sold the machine earlier this year and got an 8-core 2.8 GHz Mac Pro with the 8800GT graphics card and 10 GB RAM (obviously not for gaming, but gaming is nice when not using the beast for work).

    I tried to install The Sims 2 (and updated it with the latest universal patch - from December 2007), but the game just won't work at all. I've been in contact with Aspyr, and they are unable to help, beyond recommending me to re-install the game. Duh. Done that many times already. No luck. So I'll start some experiments on my own over the weekend and see if I can come up with a proper solution myself. The problem is probably due to some external equipment I've got, or possible software issues.

    However - lots of others are using The Sims 2 (Mac version) without troubles at all on both the MP and other Intel-based Macs, so you shouldn't worry.

    The only thing that made me think twice recently, was when I came across another thread here saying that there is no AA option at all for The Sims 2 under OS X. I didn't know that, but I can now see what the fuzz is about. It simply looks much better under Windows. Check this thread and see the screenshots, and then decide if you want to support the Mac game producers, or if you want to pick up a cheaper copy for Windows and that might give better graphical results...

    I'll wait until The Sims 3 before I'll consider placing more money into this game.
     
  19. Slayerboym88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #19
    Power to you my friend, you must have the patience of Job to be willing to wait that long!

    I have the Windows version and use via bootcamp, all EP except for pets, and all works great! To the OP: Go for it, as long as you don't already have the Windows versions!
     

Share This Page