The Sims 2 (Mac version) on Macbook

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by lucky3killer, Oct 24, 2007.

  1. lucky3killer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #1
    I just curious about Macbook with Intel GMA 950, plus I'm think about get black one in later and already owned iMac with ATI Radeon 2400 HD XT.

    Does mac version of The Sims 2 is running on Macbook? including wth all expansion packs then how is well to play?
     
  2. zen macrumors 68000

    zen

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    #2
    I think the answer is no, it doesn't run at all. I seem to recall I tried it and Civ IV (and I know Civ IV didn't run).
     
  3. lancestraz macrumors 6502a

    lancestraz

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Location:
    RI
  4. lucky3killer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #4
    According on Apple store website, The Sims 2 is playable on Intel GMA 950 when expansion pack was after Season to support GMA 950, it's on requirement system.

    I had tried to played the sims 2 on windows (non-mac, HP based) with GMA 950 and they are playable, just runs so well but I'm not sure about mac version on macbook.

    Apple did added The Sims 2 Season to suggested game for mini mac, they use same graphic as macbook does.

    Edit, I need anyone who own macbook and had test with this game to answer here.
     
  5. lancestraz macrumors 6502a

    lancestraz

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Location:
    RI
    #5
    I do. All I get is a black screen when I try to run it. However, it runs OK under Boot Camp.

    Edit: It seems some people have has better luck than me.
     
  6. HOSKINGJ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    #6
    I've run Sims 2 on my Macbook, as in it installed and started playing etc. However, it was rubbish. As in really poor performance.

    A no-go I'm afraid :(
     
  7. yoda13 macrumors 65816

    yoda13

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    Civ IV runs great on a MacBook, I played it all summer on mine...:confused:
     
  8. ness31 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    #8
    It works for me, but not very well. It runs great in Boot Camp.
     
  9. lucky3killer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #9
    Oh, Don't forget to download patches to support universal, it should fix the bugs.

    Do you got Season expansion pack?
     
  10. Georgyyy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #10
    bit of a late reply but I have the sims 2 on my macbook and it runs fine. It's performance isn't as great as windows (sometimes their clothes and faces go a bit blurry) but I honestly think it's playable and the load time is nothing.
    I don't have any of the expansion packs though, dunno if that would slow it down a lot...
     

Share This Page