The Sims 2 on Mac

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by simsfanatic, Aug 15, 2007.

  1. simsfanatic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #1
    Does anyone know if The Sims 2 works on the mac? I love the game and if mac won't run it, I'm not getting one!
     
  2. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #2
    Yes it does. Aspyr ports it to Mac. The most recent release was Seasons. Beware you'll need to repurchase the game!
     
  3. Muzzway macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #3
    The Windows version will work on a mac if you install Windows on Bootcamp (or possibly Parallels/VMware, but it wouldn't work as well). This requires that you buy Windows. There's also a Mac version as Steve1496 said, which works perfectly well in my experience. If you use the mac version without any expansion packs, make sure to download the universal binary at http://www.aspyr.com/product/news/6/31 or you'll have very bad game quality.
     
  4. simsfanatic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #4
    Thanks, I have all of the games/ep's but they're windows version... I'm new at this so it will take me a while!:eek:
     
  5. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #5
    Don't bother with Parallels or VMWare. The performance will be _very_ bad. Bootcamp works if you already bought Windows anyways. As said, yes, definitely get the universal patch or it will run very slow--same with the expansions up to Pets (this was the first universal expansion).
     
  6. simsfanatic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
  7. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #7
    Yes it does. I play it all the time. It runs really well too, as long has you run it on a Mac with a decent graphics card.

    Don't mean to go totally nerdtronic on you, but actually Open For Buisiness was the first UB expansion. :p

    BTW, I think all new copies of the Sims 2 (including all the expansion packs) are Universal out of the box. Don't quote me on that though.
     
  8. techlover828 macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #8
    nope, they're not
     
  9. simsfanatic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
  10. techlover828 macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #10
    Universal Binary? I could be wrong though.
     
  11. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #11
    Nope, you got it right.

    Would you like a cookie? :)
     
  12. techlover828 macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #12
    yes please.
     
  13. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #13
    Nerdtronic :D love it. You're right, though, OFB was the first UB.
     
  14. holybatfart macrumors member

    holybatfart

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Location:
    Johio
    #14
    My copy of The Sims 2 was UB and it runs great on my 2.4GHz MBP.
     
  15. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #15
    Glad you like it. Don't use it though, it's my special word. :)
     

Share This Page