The Sims 3 "PowerPC not supported"

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Leotno, Jul 31, 2011.

  1. Leotno macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #1
    Hey all, so I have the Sims 3 that I used to play on my Macbook Pro Core 2 Duo. I recently bought a iMac i7 a few months ago. I found my disk and decided to install it on my iMac. When I click the installer icon it says "You can't open the applications The Sims 3 Installer because PowerPC applications are no longer supported." What does this mean? I also have Lion installed, i recall not being able to install the game on my iMac on Snow Leopard either.

    I can not find anything pertaining to this problem online.
     
  2. wywern209 macrumors 65832

    wywern209

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    do you rly want to know?
    #2
    it would appear that the sims 3 require rossetta to be installed in order for it work. which is possible in SL but impossible in lion.
     
  3. harrisondavies macrumors 6502

    harrisondavies

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    #3
    It means you have OS X Lion installed. Apple officially no longer support PPC on this Operating System.
     
  4. Leotno thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #4
    It seems some people are still able to install and play The Sims 3 with Lion, as long as you don't have the NVIDIA cards not supported. Which should not be a problem for me since I have a ATI Radeon.

    http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/411234.page

    Im guessing I should ask the EA forums if there is a patch on the game.
     
  5. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    But The Sims 3 doesn't use Rosetta? It's a Cider app, which is Intel only :s
     
  6. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #6
    Affirmative.

    I had this same issue when trying to install Silverlight, it insisted I was on a PPC when I was most definitely on x86. I don't know if the SIMS installer is similar to silverlight, but all it took for SL was the removal of a file responsible for checking the system requirements.
     
  7. Weepul macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #7
    Even if the game is native, the installer application might not be. :(
     
  8. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #8
    I was about to post the same thing.
     
  9. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #9
    come on guys.. why would they make a PPC installer for a Intel only game... its always been Intel only and has never worked on PPC... so no.. its not a PPC installer.
     
  10. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #10
    And what makes you so sure of that. Apparently there have been other games that will work on Intel based systems using Rosetta with Leopard or Snow Leopard that have a Power PC installer. I'm sure I read another thread here mentioning another game that is Intel based but has a Power PC installer.

    That said Sims 3 is supposed to work with Lion.
     
  11. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #11
    Games that at one time supported PPC or were PPC only, and later upgraded (like WoW) often have PPC installers even if the game is Universal. This is a game that is Intel only (not Universal) that never ever supported PPC in any way, ported by a company that never did any PPC ports but only started porting because of the Intel switch...

    It could be bad coding in the installer only looking for 10.4, 10.5 or 10.6 intel installs, else assuming it is not supported with a general, must be PPC...
     
  12. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #12
    That's the reason I never mentioned it, there is absolutely no reason for the installer to be PPC.
     
  13. Leotno thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #13
    I don't know if this helps but I get the same message on my 2011 Macbook Air.
     
  14. Leotno thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #14
    I can not find anything resembling installationcheck in the resources folder.
     
  15. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #15
    If you right click the installer, then Get Info, what does it say next to "Kind:"?
     
  16. Leotno thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #16
    Okay, I tried to install on my Macbook Pro Core 2 Duo and it works perfectly.
    On my MBP It says Application(Intel)

    Here is what it says on my iMac.
    [​IMG]


    Here is the message.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #17
    I just installed The Sims 3 on my MacBook Pro running Lion and I had no issues. It was a direct download copy (legal, from Direct2Drive) so it may be different but I don't see why it would be.
     
  18. VeganHipster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #18
    I know most companies will let you download the game from their website once you have registered it to your account. Try that if EA supports and see what happens.
     
  19. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #19
    try this...

    take the Sims app that is installed on your macbook pro, zip it up (right click and compress) and move that new zip file over to your other machine and uncompress it.

    I don't think the "install" is really even needed on this port, just zip, move, and play.
     
  20. Leotno thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #20
    Hey this works.
     

Share This Page