The Sims 3

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by monopolyex, Jul 1, 2010.

  1. monopolyex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    #1
    i have the latest macbook (1 week old purchased from the apple store)
    and i was wondering if my mac would run the sims 3
    because it cant run the sims 2 (win7 ultimate) it just has a graphics card error
    so i was wondering if it will run it?
    thanks in advance!:apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple:
     
  2. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    It should run the Sims 3 fine under Mac OS X. The driver error under Windows 7 for Sims 2 is odd, but I cant see why the Sims 3 wouldnt work just fine under OS X
     
  3. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #3
    It works fine. Why didn't you just search and find this out for yourself? There are plenty of threads about it.
     
  4. monopolyex thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    #4
    sims 3 Leopard or win7

    hello mac fans,
    i have the latest macbook and i have windows 7 ultimate running on it also on bootcamp
    and i was wondering what OS would the sims 3 run smoother on
    because id rather Snow leopard but if i have to id use windows 7 for the sims 3 if its smoother
    so whats the verdict? whats faster
    also a sub question: whats the page-up (and page-down) shortcut for mac keyboard so i can switch levels with my house easily
    thanks in advance!
     
  5. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    If it's on the Macbook keyboard then there are no page up/page down keys, you'll have to reassign your shortcut keys, or get an external keyboard.

    The Sims 3 will no doubt run better on Windows 7. It is playable on OS X, but Windows is renowned for it's better gaming ability.
     
  6. PhazonUK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    #6
    Go with Windows. I used to have Sims 3 on my MacBook so that my sister could play it. I first had it on Win7 and thought it was going quite slow so I thought I'd install on OSX and see how it was. It was slower, by quite a bit.
    I heard EA just run it through an emulation program in order to play it on the Mac so it overall runs slower.
     
  7. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #7
    Yeah that's probably true, just port it over rather than re-write it for OS X. That does make it much slower.
     

Share This Page