The strangest graphic card joke ever seen

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by TiberioG, Apr 27, 2015.

  1. TiberioG, Apr 27, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2015

    TiberioG macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    #1
    Hello!
    My mac pro 2008 is definitely possessed by the evil.
    In fact the cursor goes where he wants.
    Watch the video and you'll see it
    http://tgsite.altervista.org/Nuova%20cartella%20con%20elementi/IMG_2345.MOV

    I have tried to change the mouse (I have a wired usb mouse), i have tried to change the surface where i put the mouse, i have tried to boot a clean install of OS X, i have checked the RAM but the same issue occurred.

    But when i have tried to change the graphic card, a flashed Asus EAH 5770, and i used a Nvidia everything goes ok.


    Is there a possibility to fix that very annoying issue?
    I don't want to buy a new graphic card!

    ----------

    the video is uploading to the server, be patient
     
  2. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #2
    Cannot play the video, not even with VLC. Strange format.
     
  3. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
  4. TiberioG thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    #5
    try this url tgsite.altervista.org/Nuova%20cartella%20con%20elementi/IMG_2345.MOV

    tgsite.altervista.org/Nuova%20cartella%20con%20elementi/IMG_2345.MOV

    ----------

    i was a problem with the server.

    ----------

    No, the issue is serious, i'm getting very annoyed for that problem!

    ----------

    i have a little bit exaggerated the description but my mac pro has a problem really!
     
  5. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #6
  6. crjackson2134, Apr 28, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2015

    crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #7
    Okay, so your problem is that your mouse randomly jumps to unexpected place on the screen while in use?

    Is that the issue?

    If yes, then you need to give everyone a complete description of your hardware, software that's in use, and a better description of how you replicate the problem. I see the video, but I'm sure you can give more details.

    I have an issue where when I'm typing into a web text-input box, my cursor doesn't move for a few seconds, the it catches up to the buffer and it suddenly spits out all of the text, then it freezes again. It's like your jumping mouse pointer. It seems to skip responding to input at times and then suddenly responds when it's not expected.

    Does that sound like I have a grasp of your issue?
     
  7. TiberioG thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    #8
    Ok, here are more info about my hardware:

    Mac Pro early 2008 2 x 3ghz Quad core xeon
    16 GB 800MHz DDR2
    Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024Mb i's a PC card manufactured by Asus model EAH5770 but flashed with efi string (i have followed netkas instructions)
    OS X 10.9.5
    dual monitor via DVI

    The issue is that the cursor jumps where he wants almost every time i use it, it has just happened now, as i was trying to correct a word but the pointer went out of the typing frame.

    I'm absolutely convinced that is related with the Graphics card because today i tried to use my mac pro with a nVidia 660Ti taken from my hackintosh PC ( that card is natively supported in OS X) and worked flawlessly.

    I have put the ATI 5770 into the hackintosh and the issue didn't presented.

    So I think that there is a problem with the ATI 5000 graphic drivers inside Mac OS.

    Another graphic-related issue is a random kernel panic that occurs sometimes but always after waking from sleep. See the log attached and you'll see the kernel extensions in backtrace.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Tucom macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #9
    The issue you're having is due to your 7970 GPU - check the forums about the 7950 Mac Edition causing all sorts of momentary freezes and lock ups on Yosemite. There's a few threads, one I made as I want to get a more powerful GPU for my 2010 one of these days, and all have the same exact issue you describe. Apple really needs to fix this.
     
  9. crjackson2134, Apr 28, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2015

    crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #10
    I've tried 3 different GPU's. I installed the 7970 because of the problem. The issue predates the 7970 install. The 7950 is much worse that mine.

    I do agree that it is a graphics related problem in both cases and I agree that it is related to the AMD line of GPUs. Just not specifically the 7970 or 7950 cards. I honestly think it's an AMD driver issue.

    I would urge anyone with this problem or one that is related to leave detailed feedback with Apple's "Bug" reporting program.
     
  10. Tucom macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #11
    I report any bugs I find to Apple's Bug Reporting program.

    I just have the 5770 and it's been flawless, so far on every version of Yosemite thus far. It's def. a 7000 series issue.

    I think it's also Apple's call as to this getting fixed, because as I'm sure you know, Apple writes the drivers for their GPUs, at least for AMD.
     
  11. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #12
    It's not just the 7000 series, I get the same problem with the 5870. I upgraded to the 7970 chasing a solution to the issue. It's no better or worse than the 5870 (by Apple, from the factory when this machine was purchased new).
     
  12. Tucom macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #13
    Oh wow, didn't know that. Well, glad I held off getting a 5870 then! I bet it will be fixed sooner or later, but kind of worrying this bug got through in the first place.
     
  13. crjackson2134, Apr 28, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2015

    crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #14
    I'm fairly optimistic that it will be fixed in time. The 5870 being an Apple supplied card, and the 7970 being the same as the Apple supplied D700.

    Now let me intimate something that blew my mind. I was performing various test confiugurations with my new SSUBX PCIe SSD, when on one of the 20-30 reboots, and PRAM resets, then SUDDENLY... All lagging of the text input disappeared. I also got enhanced response of the entire GUI. It was like I shoved a turbo-charger in there. I thought that perhaps a behind the scenes Apple update had occured and fixed this issue without my noticing it.

    Well of course I really didn't think that happened but I couldn't put my finger on the exact cause/cure. Then I powered off the system and rebooted. Saddly, the lagging issue returned and I've not been able to duplicate the magic that gave me such stellar performance.
     
  14. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #15
    I'm not sure what that means. Was there some on screen message that the PRAM was resetting itself?
     
  15. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #16
    Lol, no it was poor punctuation. I meant after doing several PRAM resets, then suddenly the lagging stopped happening. Then after a subsequent reboot, it started lagging again.

    I should have never turned it off again.
     
  16. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #17
    I wonder if this radeon-lagging-phenomenon somehow might be connected to the performance issue in the MacPro3,1 -> http://netkas.org/?p=1325
     
  17. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #18
    I may try the workaround in that post in a couple of days when I get the time. If it works I'll post back and let you know. I have my doubts that it'll make any difference for me. I'm on a 5,1 and I never had a problem like this on Mavericks, but it's worth a try.
     

Share This Page