The switch

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by elviorion, Feb 7, 2014.

1. elviorion macrumors newbie

(he says)Hello, my name is Elviorion and I'm a PC user
    (crowd says) HI ELVIORION

Anyway, little humor aside I have been a PC user all my life. Since graduating high school I have worked in IT in some capacity or another. I worked as a network/server admin for a local ISP, managed a helpdesk that supported about 40 different ISP's (if you live in NE and have called your ISP you've talked to my crew), and most recently work in IT at one of the largest hospitals in the country.

That said...I know next to nothing about mac. I have never owned one, I had never had an interest in owning one. I never learned more than I needed to do basic support. Knowlege of Linux helped a great deal with troubleshooting and kept me from having to learn too much mac specific stuff. I have always been a gamer, and so always gravitated towards the PC. It's where I am comfortable, it's home..

Well, I want to move. I'm bored with home. I'm tired of the bugs, I'm sick of spending 2 days fixing my windows PC after someone uses it for a day and gets it all mucked up. Mostly I crave a new experience! I have 3 children, 2 of them under the age of 3, and have not used my PC for gaming since I built it a few months ago. It's only been used to edit pictures and store files. The proceeds will go towards the purchase of a Macbook Pro (I think...)

What I am looking to get out of the computer. Picture editing, minor video editing (I have a small cannon HD camera I want to make better use out of), browsing the internet and...light...gaming. I'd love to be able to play Sim City on it, and maybe a few older titles. Nothing with state of the art graphics of course. I have a Playstation 4 for that.