Windows The Temple of Elemental Evil ?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Washac, May 13, 2013.

  1. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #1
    Is anybody playing this ?

    Bought at GOG.

    If so I have a bit of a problem :

    There are two mod patches available, one is a straight mod patch, the other mod patch and new content.

    People recommend using just the straight mod patch without the new content for first play through.

    My problem is below
    ------------------------
    I have installed the game and have installed and activated the Co8 Mod Pack only, all went OK.

    I have disabled the intro graphics because I have seen them.

    I choose play and the game starts to load, Blue bar at bottom - Intializing Sector data hangs near the end for a bit, then it goes to the game screen PLAY, QUIT etc and it all locks up mouse pointer does not move.

    The above happens if I disable the intro graphics.

    If I reinstate the intro graphics and let them run or ESC out the game seems to work OK but without tutorial mode being present.

    If I install the game use no mod patch the tutorial option is there, but people say the game is so buggy it really messes with game play.
    --------------------------
     
  2. blesscheese macrumors 6502a

    blesscheese

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Central CA
    #2
    Not this this helps...I have installed it and played it (not recently) in Win XP (using bootcamp) and used (first) the official patch and then (second time) the Co8 Mod (forget the version...) and both times, the game worked well and without any of the bugginess I had heard described, and certainly not any of the problems you had.

    This was with the CD version...I'm not sure about the GOG version, but they usually iron out the bugs.

    What system are you using? I thought the CO8 site had a good forum, maybe they could help you.
     
  3. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #3
    I've been playing ToEE with Co8 with a wrapper in Mac OSX, I've not had any issues.
     
  4. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #4
    Yes, thought I would post here while waiting for my C08 forum registration to be activated.

    ----------

    Sound interesting, just of to the Porting Team to get the wrapper :)
     
  5. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #5
    Cannot get the wrapper to work, have posted on the Porting Team site.
     

Share This Page