The thing that annoys me MOST about OSX...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by BirdInTheCity, Apr 29, 2009.

1. BirdInTheCity macrumors newbie

and I'm wondering if there is any solution for getting around it:

Basically, I work as a freelance Flash developer and I often have a TON of different projects going on at once that I must constantly bounce between. To keep organized, I have a folder structure on my system like so:
    Work : Project 1
    :Assets
    :Flash
    :Images
    :HTML
    :etc

Work : Project 2
    :Assets
    :Flash
    :Images
    :HTML
    :etc

Now, say I have two files open in Flash:
    For example:
    Work/Project2/Flash/myProject.fla
    Work/Project17/Flash/myProject.fla
    Whenever I try to import things or "Save As..." for those projects (to version the files for backup purposes), the default directory that shows up is the LAST directory that I have been accessing with that program. So, if I've been saving stuff for "Project2" and then I switch to "Project17", it'll default to the "Project2" directory even though the already created file is in the "Project17" directory.

I know this sounds like a small point, but the amount of time I waste navigating back to the right place drives me CRAZY! I thought it would be a software issue, but the PC version of the software defaults to the "correct" directory automatically--it realizes that myProject.fla is already saved in a certain folder and that is the one that it prompts me to save it into again. Is there some way to make this happen on the Mac?

Also, I know that I can put project folders on the PLACES area of the Finder Window, but this seems like an unnecessarily tedious step... any hints for resolving this for me?

Gracias!
    Brian

2. upaymeifixit macrumors 6502a

upaymeifixit

I don't really have much of a solution...