The total cost to switch to Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pencilbox, Aug 8, 2009.

1. pencilbox macrumors newbie

is too huge an investment for me. After spending 2 weeks reading through posts, reviews, visiting forums and relevant sites, I'm almost leaning towards switching. What holding me back is the total cost to switch. After some conversative calculation, I need to invest at least a 8k to do the switch (hardware + software). Now, I am hesitating as its consider quite a huge investment to me to take the plunge. I need to talk to real people.

I'm a designer and have been using Windows for the past 10 years. I know you would not believe there is a designer who never touches Mac. I started off in a corporate environment on a PC and have been doing that ever since. I'm doing full time freelancing now and majority of my clients are PC users. Windows have NEVER given me any problems. I have never experienced any system crash, I have never installed any anti-virus or anti-spam software and my system is never infected, I have never need to call up tech support for help. I am not tech savvy but using Windows have been that problem free for me. So, I'm justified to never explore a Mac and have never thought of switching.

Lately, I'm on the look out to buy a new workstation to replace the aged 4 year old workstation and my CRT monitor, I'm considering getting my hands on the new Mac Pro and the 24" LED. Especially after knowing I can run Windows in Mac too. I knew Mac WAS the ultimate choice for designers in the past but I am wondering if Windows have catch up on this market share successfully. If you are a designer doing print and web and are using windows and mac pro at the same time, would you mind to share your experience on both systems and what are the things I need to be aware of when I switched?