The wait is over, but which one? 13/15

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jmdMac, Apr 14, 2010.

1. jmdMac macrumors regular

Hi all,
    I am ready to buy a new macbook and have been waiting since winter break for the updates. I however cannont decide between the base 15" or the high end 13". I am not exactly sure what my needs even call for. I am a junior engineering student, I use a lot of excel, word processing, photoshop, and a couple minor engineering programs. I would like to get into photography a little more and may be trying out aperture as well. Other than that I surf the web, listen to itunes, watch movies, and play a few games once in a while. The games I play are usually not that high end(heroes of newerth, AOE, rome, and those type of games) but it would be nice to play them on decently high settings.
    The portability of the 13" is a major plus, but how much is even really compared to a 15"?
    Any input on this would be much appreciated, this is an expensive decision I want to make right.

2. armaanjena macrumors newbie

I would suggest you either go for the base 13" or the base 15" as they seem the best value for money options now BUT WHATEVER YOU DO AVOID THE HIGH END 13".

3. jmdMac thread starter macrumors regular

wow thanks for the advice, i was seriously considering getting the high end 13
    but why should i avoid it?

4. A Macbook Pro macrumors 6502

Because the difference is extremely minimal for the price. Just get the 15'' base and get the latest i5 technology, the better graphics, and the bigger screen. You will NOT regret it!

5. mg1921 macrumors newbie

Hi all,

First time poster looking at making the switch from PC to Mac and the new MBP updates look good. I'm currently at university so like the portability of a laptop (currently have a 1.5 year old Asus laptop). However looking at either selling this and buying MBP or alternatively buying 27" iMac and keeping laptop.
    Alternatives as I see it are: