The "Who is taking their iPAD back" thread

Discussion in 'iPad' started by mbell75, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. mbell75 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #1
    Paid $500 for this thing and cant even use it more than 5 minutes before it logs me off my network or asks for the password again. Most the time I have to try multiple times before I can get back on. Meanwhile, my Macbook runs just fine on the same wifi network. Taking it back first thing in the morning, ridiculous.
     
  2. CompanionCube macrumors regular

    CompanionCube

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #2
    Ok, so blame your lack of knowledge on properly setting up routers...along with your garbage WiFi connectivitiy...on the iPad? Maybe you should just return it and use the money to hire someone to come properly install your router and test for signal interference. :rolleyes::rolleyes:
     
  3. GregGebhardt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    #3
    I would agree that it is NOT the iPad's fault rather that user error!

    Does it not it not seem funny that only YOU are complaining about this?

    Someone else will be glad to get your iPad!
     
  4. mbell75 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #4
  5. ri0ku macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #5
    What a douche...

    Before you jump in with statements like that oh great mighty router god. Tell me.. how do you wrongly set up a router to keep cutting the connection out? A cant seem to find such an option? oh mighty router god please enlighten us all.
     
  6. ob81 macrumors 65816

    ob81

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #6
    I haven't had any issues with either of the 2 in my household. On this forums at least, a lot of people seemed to have wifi issues with the iPod touch, iPhone, and now a few a trickling in about the iPad. I work in the tech field, most of their issues appear to be operator error from reading it. No way to tell.

    With that being said, if your laptop is better at what you need it to do, take the iPad back and get your money bro'.

    Use the money you saved to take your significant other out for a night on the town. Don't worry about posting on these forums about it. Live your life.
     
  7. mbell75 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
  8. jedolley macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    #8
    I'm taking mine back, but will hopefully exchange it for one that does not have a dead/stuck pixel. The pixel is small and dark and in most cases hard to notice. Other than that I think the device is great so far.
     
  9. northernbaldy macrumors 6502a

    northernbaldy

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Location:
    the north, UK
    #9
    how dare you insult the all mighty tablet on this holy of holiest days

    lol


    take it back, its probably faulty. in the 4857845 ipads sold already, there is going to be some bad ones, no one has 100% quality
     
  10. NJRonbo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #10
    Sounds like a software bug. Apple will fix it.

    No sense taking something back when a
    software fix is probably forthcoming.
     
  11. mbell75 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #11
    So pay $500 for a wifi device in which wifi does not work? No thanks. Unless the fix comes out tomorrow, its going back. This is a major issue, not some app not responding.
     
  12. klrobinson999 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #12
    why not just take it back for an exchange? Perhaps there is a technical problem with the device? I'm sure Apple will get you another one.
     
  13. alent1234 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #13


    Is your ssid set to not to broadcast?
     
  14. egwnx01 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Location:
    Washington State
    #14
    My iPad is working great on wifi. Spent 9 hours surfing the web, streaming videos and downloading apps yesterday with no problems.
     
  15. Robb.Penoyer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #15
    I think it goes without saying that the iPad came with the latest firmware/software available.... Before you get to hard on the connectivity issues, make sure your network equipment, router, wifi bases, whatever you use are also at the latest firmware revisions.

    Not all networking equipment is created equal.
     
  16. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #16
    Wireless routers are among the most finicky devices you can use.

    Your Macbook might be able to hold signal because it has a more robust antenna that can cut through all of the interference while the iPad can't. Is that a problem with the iPad? No. The iPad is a portable device with different hardware.

    If you had posted that an iPod Touch or iPhone could and the iPad couldn't then I might be impressed.

    Change the channel your router is using, check the router position to ensure it is high enough (top of a shelf etc), and switch to 5GHz if you have an 802.11n router living in a densely populated area.

    Florescent lights, microwaves, cheap major appliances (dryers), 2.4GHz cordless handsets, and so on can also interfere.
     
  17. ob81 macrumors 65816

    ob81

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #17
    What are you still doing here? You should be out living your life right now! Don't let that silly iPad hold you back bro'.

    Call your girl up. Time to hit the town with that $500.
     
  18. mbell75 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #18

    What is ssid?
     
  19. pvmacguy macrumors 65816

    pvmacguy

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Location:
    Jax
    #19
    Ssid is the name of your wireless network. I would also agree to change the channel of your wifi router that helped mine when it was having issues a while back.
     
  20. alent1234 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #20
    I have a similar problem.

    At home on my linksys 2 iPhones, a mac mini and 2 pc work fine. At my inlaws on trendnet my 3gs does the same thing. It always forgets the connection. My wife's 3g works fine there.
     
  21. Superman Y2K macrumors regular

    Superman Y2K

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
  22. Robb.Penoyer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #22
    LOL bro... good call!
     
  23. haddman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    #23
    Make sure your SSID broadcasting is turned on. Try switching your security settings from WPA to WEP and see if that makes a difference. It is you router dude, not the iPad.
     
  24. PhoneI macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #24
    I was just sitting out in my backyard browsing over my WiFi. I get awesome range on my iPad. Perhaps you have a faulty one. Man, I love this thing.
     
  25. 0101001 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #25
    No wi fi problems at all this thing is sweet.
     

Share This Page