There's a dot on the ext. FireWire HD icon (EFI boot menu)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Mic'sBook, Feb 21, 2010.

  1. Mic'sBook macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #1
    Look at where the cursot points at.

    They are not dead pixels, as you can see both external FireWire HDs have the dots.

    And it seems that other Macs are having the same 'bug' as you can see here:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vFZZuRVodpc
    (view as 480p)

    Is that a 'bug'?
    Apple is always known as making insanely great UI, graphics, and icons…
    Probably because Apple is intensely focusing on making the iPhone? iPod touch? iPad?
    Do you have the same 'bug'?

    Just curious
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #2
    I think it's supposed to be an indicator light or something. Both my Macintosh HD and Time Machine volumes have it.

    Sort of an joke like the Finder icon for a shared Windows computer. It's a BSOD if you look carefully. :D
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Mic'sBook thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    Sorry if I said something unclear! :)
    Take a look at the left attachment, where my mouse cursor points at is a dot.

    The EFI boot menu (you may probably know, just clarify) can be accessed when pressing the Option key while booting.
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    How horrible! It'll probably crash your system! I'd be embarrassed to be seen in public with a dot like that! I hope it's covered by AppleCare! What a terrifying disaster! Apple is going down the tubes! I'm sure their stock will drop by 50% in the next week! :rolleyes:
     
  5. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #5
    Blimey! Better file a bug with Apple pronto with that one.
     
  6. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #6
    Well, why doesn't the right one have it? Must be some artifact of the boot menu. Don't see why it's important, or why I should care. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page