Thick Walls, Strong Router?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by realph, Aug 6, 2011.

  1. realph macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #1
    I've got some friends that live in an old 4 storey home, the problem is they have very thick walls and their current router (D-Link DIR-615) can't seem to penetrate the signal outside of the room the router is in.

    Does anyone know what the strongest router they could buy would be? And any tips for having a strong signal throughout the house.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. aygie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #2
    Airport extreme and then a few airport expresses extending the network throughout the house should help.

    Are you in the states or Europe?
     
  3. snberk103 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    An Island in the Salish Sea
    #3
    The other thing to consider is the angle the signal is travelling through the wall.

    For example. If the router and the computer are each placed right next to the wall (but on opposite sides of the wall) - but one is one end of wall and the other is 5 or 6 metres farther down the wall....

    R
    ==================
    C

    Then the signal needs to travel through several metres of construction (draw a straight line from Router to Computer).

    Whereas, if the Router and Computer are further away from each other, but the signal is travelling through the wall closer to 90º then it may be stronger.

    Also, if there is a big metal thing between the two there will a signal shadow, or a think set of power lines, a heating duct, etc etc.

    Perhaps some of this will help. Without seeing the setup it's hard to diagnose long-distance.
     
  4. realph thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #4
    I'm in Europe.
     
  5. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #5
    Buy a router and flash it with DD-WRT. You can adjust the power levels past what the manufacturer thinks is best with DD-WRT.
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Careful with that the mfg. settings are also to comply with legal requirements so YMMV. DDWRT rocks though...

    B
     
  7. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #7
    In my experience testing these kinds of things, they're really not. Power levels are all over the place.
     

Share This Page