Things keep changing in Finder

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by JajoPGH, Nov 2, 2009.

1. JajoPGH macrumors regular

I am very new to the Mac world. I bought my second Mac last month (first one in 1996, returned it for a Compaq)

Lately, I have realized that things change in Finder.

For instance, I'll open my "Applications" folder and it will be in Detail mode. The next time I'll open the folder, there will be icons instead of the Detail/List view.

This happens quite frequently, and it annoys the living crap out of me.

Am I completely missing something here? How do I get my preferences to stay permanently?

One more thing. In Safari, I'll have my Status Bars turned off. After a couple Safari windows are opened, the Status Bar reappears for the new window. What's up with that?

2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

Open /Applications/Utilities/Disk Utility.app, select your system hard drive partition in the list on the left side of the window, and click Repair Permissions.

Worth a shot, anyhow.

3. Gregg2 macrumors 603

I think it's more likely being caused by a corrupt Finder preference file. You could try replacing the com.apple.finder.plist file. You'll find it in your Home folder > Library > Preferences.

Move the file to your Desktop and Restart. A new one will be created for you in the Preferences folder. If that doesn't fix the problem, you can put the original file back if there are settings that you want to restore. The new file will be set to defaults.

If that didn't help, you should try logging in under a different user account. Mac Help can guide you. Good luck!

4. JajoPGH thread starter macrumors regular

Thank you,

I didn't even have the com.apple.finder.plist file. I did a quick google search about this problem, and it suggested to enter Terminal and delete some files. I did, but to no avail. Things are still the same (ie. reverting back to icons)

:confused::eek:

5. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution