Think a First Gen Intel Imac would run with the Superdrive removed?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by darbyclash34, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. darbyclash34 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #1
    I know this sounds like an insane question, but do you think it would work? Tried a replacement for a friend, and it turned out that a warped case is what was making his discs never eject. We're going to send back this drive, but can we leave the bay where the drive goes just empty? Thanks!

    Shawn
     
  2. forgottensoft macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
  3. m1stake macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #3
    Get an external instead, but I'm sure you've already thought of that :p
     
  4. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #4
    Yeah itll work fine, probably be wise to never press the eject key though whilst there no drive, might make it freak out a bit :p
     
  5. andrewag macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
  6. colourclassic macrumors member

    colourclassic

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne
  7. darbyclash34 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #7
    Well, I did it, and now the power light comes on and stays on, but the machine doesn't boot, the screen just stays black. any suggestions?

    shawn
     
  8. darbyclash34 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #8
    did you by chance leave the connector attachment board on there?
     
  9. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #10
    This might be impossible, but correct me if I am wrong. Instead of a optical drive in the iMac's optical bay, it is possible to put a second hard drive in there instead. I heard of this being possible a couple times. Then you could get an external Firewire optical drive.
     
  10. darbyclash34 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #11
    I'm not sure about the 2nd harddrive thing. anyone have any suggestions for me?

    shawn
     
  11. fohawk17 macrumors regular

    fohawk17

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #12
    it is possible to put a hard drive in there, you just have to find an adapter
     

Share This Page