Think i messed up my Pathway?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Irishmantis, Nov 28, 2014.

  1. Irishmantis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    #1
    Hello everyone!

    First time member, long time viewer.

    The problem that im having right now is that i cant run "-bash" or "-vm" paths in Terminal.

    So im running Java in Eclipse (Programming) the last few days, just started, wanted to get into it.
    everything is going fine i make a few mistakes get a few errors, delete them bla bla, so i decided to restart my computer,
    All of a Sudden java wont launch, it just bounces in the Dock bar then disappears without any message.
    so i did the usual, deleted Eclipse and Java then reinstalled both of them, and as you imagined that didn't help.
    Opened up terminal to check the path and it saids "-vm is not a command" or something like that,
    then i tried "-bash" and get the same thing, from i researched, i found similar problems with Snow Leopard with people.
    So far as i seen on this site everyone who had the same problem got it sorted, and being that this is a very individual problem, every answer is different.

    I think the problem is caused either by when i was deleting stuff in eclipse i could of deleted something important,
    or i also just installed wine, and it was after i closed Wine this happened plus a similar problem a user had like this was also connected to him installing wine

    TL;DR eclipse wont launch, and both "-VM and -bash" are no longer commands (-VM is the pathway for Eclipse) So anybody got any ideas?
    this is on Snow Leopard

    When i "echo $PATH" i get this,
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #2
    I will try to help, but you you will have to try to be more clear in your problem statement. State exactly what you are doing, what you expected to happen and what actually happened.
     
  3. Irishmantis, Nov 30, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2014

    Irishmantis thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    #3
    Thanks for your reply

    I am trying to run Eclipse, and i expect it to launch but it just bounced in the Dock bar then closes

    hers the error when i try run from Terminal
    Funny thing i just figured out, is that it will run from my Download folder, but when i copy Eclipse to my Applications it wont run.

    why is that?

    edit: it only works when i copy my whole Eclipse Folder to applications which is weird since i don't have to do that with other apps, its like its having trouble find its Contents
     

Share This Page