Thinking about a clamshell

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Chad H, Mar 18, 2008.

  1. Chad H macrumors 6502a

    Chad H

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    #1
    Hey guys,
    I am glad this dang Apple bug has hit me. I am craving a iBook clamshell. I am wondering how hard it is to get these things to run OSX? I am looking for a 366mhz and upgrading it to 576MB of RAM and putting a 120GB HD in it. What do you guys think? I am looking on ebay and "custommacs.com". I just need some input. The only thing I am going to do is surf the web and listen to i-tunes.
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    They could run Jaguar OK, but you'd be better off getting a G4 running Tiger so you can view most modern websites, whereas the older versions of Safari and IE have major problems.

    TEG
     
  3. Chad H thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Chad H

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    #3
    Can you not update Safari? Also, they didn't make a G4 clamshell did they?
     
  4. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #4
    no such thing as a G4 clamshell. I'm just curious, why would you want one? I see you have a MBA, and that will run everything about 100x better than a clamshell, not to mention being lighter, having a far better screen, and being far sexier. Those things are really old and really slow. You could get it running 10.2 or something, but it would be painful. I used to have a 600 mhz G3 ibook, and I kept it running OS 9 most of the time. The OS X was really built with G4s and higher in mind. It will certainly run on a G3, but it's not a terribly fun experience.
     
  5. Chad H thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Chad H

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    #5
    Just a toy really. More of a collector item. Of course I guess I could just let it run OS 9 but the internet would be horrible.
     
  6. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #6
    You might be able to run a newer version of FF, but Safari 2 required Panther, and Safari 3 requires Tiger. I would actually look into finding the G3 466 clamshell iBook, that could run Panther and maybe Tiger if you max out the RAM.

    TEG
     
  7. Chad H thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Chad H

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    #7
    Yeah, I did a little more digging. Its not worth it based on what I have on the way with the mini and already having a MBA. I think I am just going to save the money and get a 23" cinema display for my mini. :D Thanks for the advice guys.
     
  8. krye macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    You can get Tiger on a clamshell if it has firewire. If not, you can remove the hard drive, stick it in another machine, install Tiger, and then swap the drive over. Google it. It's been done before.
     
  9. MacGuyver macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #9
    Guys I'm thinking about buying a VCR. Is there anyway I can make it play Blu-Ray?
     

Share This Page