Thinking about getting MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bolsen78, Oct 19, 2010.

1. bolsen78 macrumors regular

I am currently using a Macbook that is 2 years old. I love it but I want a new one. I was wondering about this Bootcamp thing? I watched a video on it. But is it something you pay for or something that is already in the MBP? It would be nice to have windows and Safari on one laptop as I have a Dell (which I hate!!) and my macbook. I honestly love apples laptops a lot better than I do Dell or anything else. My Dell is a year old and I already have had to restore it 4 times to factory settings and I am unsure why I am not that good with electronics. I would only need the 13' laptop. Is it worth getting? Can someone explain this whole Bootcamp thing better?

Thanks

2. alust2013 macrumors 601

alust2013

Bootcamp is already on your computer, but you have to provide (buy) the copy of windows to install. Bootcamp is simply the means of installing windows easily on a mac, in fact you can do that with your current machine.

3. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

All you need is Windows disc. Go to Applications > Utilities > Boot Camp Utility and it will tell you what to do. Basically, all what that utility does is partition your HD and restart the computer for you

http://www.apple.com/support/bootcamp/

4. BenFL macrumors member

Bootcamp allows you to restart your computer into Windows7 (or whatever version you purchase) do what you need to do, and restart again to get back to OS X. It temporarily turns your Mac into a PC.

Then there is Parallels. Which allows you to run windos in a window (or fullscreen) without having to restart.

Bootcamp is free and comes with, Parallels is $80.

5. movieboy23 macrumors regular

Alternatively, you could opt to purchase Parallels Desktop or VMWare Fusion which will let you virtual windows machines side-by-side with the Mac OS. No need for restarts and you can work in both environments simultaneously.