Thinking about jailbreaking my 16GB Touch need advice.

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by Drucifer, May 1, 2008.

1. Drucifer macrumors regular

I heard that many apps aren't compatible with 1.1.4. Since my iPod came with 1.1.4 and the new January updates should I restore and put firmware 1.1.3 on the iPod then jailbreak it or are the apps that aren't compatible not worth it anyway?

If I do jailbreak what is the best method. I read a number of places where people had issues using Ziphone so I'm leading towards another method but I'm a noob to the iPod Touch so I'm not sure of other methods and their ease.

Also what are some highly recommended applications? I heard about summerboard which seems like a really nice choice but I'm looking for more opinions.

Cheers!

2. brandonzar macrumors regular

do it

I recently jailbroke my 16gb touch (1.1.4) using ilibertyx and I couldn't be happier with the results. I have yet to find a program that doesn't work at all with 1.1.4, but I have only installed a dozen or so. I was hesitant to do it at first as well because I'm not a real computer geek, but it was pretty easy. I didn't know that you had to install the sources at first so I was initially very disappointed with the selection of programs, but now that I have several sources installed there are to many programs to go through.

Good Luck

3. Drucifer thread starter macrumors regular

Yeah I wasn't too worried about the actual process of jailbreaking. I mess around with my PSP firmware a lot. It isn't such a big deal now that you can restore any firmware PSP but I use to play around lots back in the day.

Maybe I can get some more advice on the prefered jailbreak method around here.

4. ranwanimator macrumors newbie

I used ziphone on my 32Gb 1.1.4 with zero problems. I only did it last night though so I can't comment on longevity or any other jb programs.

Peace

5. Slip macrumors 6502a

Slip