Thinking about switching from Windows - need advice/opinion

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by p6889k, Jun 25, 2007.

1. p6889k macrumors newbie

Hi,

I've been using Microsoft software for the last 15 years and have lately started thinking about switching to the Mac platform (OS X). For the past few weeks I've been reading various Mac articles and newsgroups to educate myself. I have learned a lot, but still have a ton of questions. I would really appreciate anyone to please provide feedback (both positive and negative) for my questions below. I would especially like to hear from those that switched from Windows to OS X.

1. Does installing/uninstalling of new applications slow down the system?

It seems that I spend ton of time just keeping my Windows running smoothly. After some time, the registry gets filled up with junk, and I have various background processes slowing my machine. I usually end up reinstalling windows every year to get rid of the junk I no longer need. I hardly have any spyware or viruses, but do frequently install software trials. I'm technical/geek enough to fix things, but I simply no longer feel like spending my time doing it. I want to use my computer without constantly fixing/tweaking something. Things get especially ugly when my 10 year old niece and nephew get on the internet to play Disney games - it doesn't matter how many firewalls, spam protections I have installed, they are always able to bring my computer to its knees.
    How is your experience with OS-X? Will I have performance problems after installing/uninstalling numerous software trials? Can I keep the system running smoothly without hunting which specific process is slowing down my Mac and cleaning up the system? How is your Mac performing after your kids played games online for a week?

2. Connecting to Windows network share?