Thinking of an InvisibleShield-type shield? DON'T!

Discussion in 'iPad Accessories' started by peestandingup, Apr 7, 2010.

1. peestandingup macrumors regular

Got my full body clear shield in today from Phantom Shield. Here was my email back to them:

Let me also tell you guys something else. Like I said, Im not a novice at installing these shields at all, but the other problem for the ones for the iPad is that because of the sheer size of the front & back, the shield pieces are massive as well. So that means its almost IMPOSSIBLE to install it correctly since the individual pieces are so big.

What ends up happening is, the shield starts falling onto/sticking to itself when you're lining it up because its heavy with water solution. Then, the size (again) makes it hard as ever-lovin' hell to get it centered straight after it is on. And you cant move it around as freely while its on the device (again, cause the size is so big) like you can with the ones for smaller phone-like devices. It just doesnt want to move freely, even if its drenched with water solution. So you end up ripping it off & trying again..and again...and again...till finally you realize its just not working & you've probably put as much water on your iPad as you'd like. And also the shield ends up being less sticky after soaking it again & again & again.

Seriously guys, just stay away. Its not worth the trouble or price. Plus, the iPad is pretty scratch-resistant anyway.

2. iCheddar macrumors 6502a

iCheddar

How is installing it on a bigger device more difficult?

I had not trouble at all putting a BSE skin on my Macbook Pro.

3. Alchematron macrumors 65816

Alchematron

Sticky stuff = No

Non-glare glass = Just say yes

4. peestandingup thread starter macrumors regular