Thinking of Apple Tv

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by abz1981, Feb 28, 2013.

1. abz1981, Feb 28, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013

abz1981 macrumors 65816

Hi

Thinking of buying Apple Tv. Is it a good time to buy. I have a few questions though.

1. For those in the UK is it possible to Air Play BBC I player content to Apple Tv from my iPhone.

2. I understand I can view content on my itunes such as movies, music and pictures on Apple Tv. How about any sites that I am streaming, for example if I have a movie or a football game on stream, can i stream this to Apple Tv.

3. Can I pick and choose what I want on Apple Tv from my iTunes.

4. If my mba is on sleep, and I am away from the house will someone still be able to use Apple Tv and see my content from iTunes, if I do not want them to see it.

5. If I am using netflix does the account have to be active on my mba for me to use it on Apple Tv. Or can I use netflix direct on Apple Tv.

6. I am new to netflix, however If I want to change content from netflix UK to the USA version, can i still do this and use it on Apple Tv.

7. How can I view my own content for example movies i may have downloaded not from itunes or netflix on Apple Tv.

Em thats all the questions I can think of for now. If anyone can answer that be great.

Thanks in advance.

2. jdechko macrumors 68040

It's probably a good time to buy. They just did a slight bump on the internals, but no new user-facing features.

1. Apparently, yes, you can.

2. If you have a supported Mac (or 3rd party AirPlay app), you should be able to stream anything from your computer to the AppleTV.

3. Yes, if it plays in iTunes, it can stream to the AppleTV.

4. If your computer is sleeping, the AppleTV won't be able to stream content from the iTunes library (with the exception of iTunes in the cloud purchases).

5. You sign in to your netflix account directly on the AppleTV.