Thinking of buying a Imac or Mac pro need some input

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jcr918, Dec 28, 2013.

1. jcr918 macrumors regular

I am a photographer and I do a lot of photo editing in Cs6. I currently own a Mac book pro retina i7 2.7 GHz with 16gig of ram and a sold state drive.

My Macbook pro works great and I love it however when I do video editing the fan screams and the macbook pro gets really hot. I am finding it to work most of the time there are a few times it can't keep up. Anyway I really want to get a desktop as a backup and primary use. I will be doing some video editing 1080p and running multiple screens with lots of applications opened up.

Would a near maxed out imac be faster then my macbook pro or should I go with the mac pro.

I am thinking of getting the 27" Imac with 8Gigs of ram upgrading it to 32gigs getting the sold state drive and the upgraded video card and CPU. The build cost came to $2,800 not including tax

2. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

rkaufmann87

A maxed out iMac will out perform just about any MBP. It's that simple, as far as the RAM goes do not buy it from Apple, buy with only 8GB and buy and install RAM from a reputable source such as OWC (www.macsales.com) or Crucial. I tend to prefer OWC as they specialize in Macs, Crucial is also very good but they don't quite have the level of knowledge or support as OWC.

3. jcr918 thread starter macrumors regular

I was planning on getting third party ram and not Apple ram.

4. Klae17 macrumors 6502a

Klae17

iMac will be good for you. With the Mac Pro you would have to buy some displays, and I don't know if apple includes the mouse and keyboard for the pro. With the solid state and some hard drives using thunderbolt or usb3 and you're set. I prefer the Magic Mouse for editing in photoshop but the trackpad more in Lightroom.

5. propower, Dec 28, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2013

propower macrumors 6502a