Thinking of buying a new iMac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by redneon, Oct 2, 2010.

1. redneon macrumors member

I've had my current iMac (first generation 32bit Intel iMac) for about four and half years now and I think it's time to replace it. I've been running MacOS from an external USB hard drive for about two years as the internal one has a few bad sectors. The superdrive has real trouble burning blank CDs for some reason (it tends to spit most of them back out before even getting to the burning stage) and I'm getting the point where I can't even run games on the lowest settings at a decent frame rate.

I'm having exactly the same quandary as I had four and half years ago though and that's that they're so bloody expensive for what they are. I play a lot of games (though mainly on console) so I like to have a machine that can handle them. Last time I got the top of the range iMac which was 20" (the bottom end one was 17" if I remember correctly) and I got the graphics card upgraded from 128mb to 256mb. I also ended up putting another 1gb of RAM in myself. That ended up costing us a fair whack though and I'm just not willing to spend that amount again. Also, the top end iMac is now 27" which I think is far too big.

So, I'm thinking of opting for the second of the 21.5" models (http://store.apple.com/uk/configure/MC509B/A?mco=MTg1ODMzNTk). I'm not sure whether to go for the upgraded processor, though. It's £160 to go from a 3.2ghz dual core i3 to a 3.6ghz dual core i5. It doesn't seem worth it to me. Would I even recognise the performance difference? I'm not going to bother upgrading the RAM from 4gb to 8gb as I can just do that myself later on. What would you recommend? Am I crazy not to go for the 27" quad core beast?