Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

davidg4781

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Oct 28, 2006
Alice, TX
I'm thinking of selling my MBP to my mom and buying either a used MBP or maybe a mini. I already have a ACD (older one) and a Magic Mouse, so I'm set with that. I also don't want to spend too much, but definitely need one that'll run El Capitan.

Are there any models I should try to look for or maybe stay away from? On the front page I saw a few 2011 models with logic board issues. Should I stay away from these or is this just a coincidence? I don't do any heavy lifting with it but plan to do some video importing/editing in the near future (I've been saying that since 2006!!). I'm also not 100% set on getting a desktop since I've been using a MacBook since 2006 but I certainly don't want to buy a MBP now. I have a feeling the next model is going to have a lot of new features like USB-C.

Gav2k

macrumors G3
Jul 24, 2009
I have a 2011 for the dgpu but the best model is the 2012 model and it's the most sought after.

SpacemanSpiffed

macrumors regular
Mar 27, 2013
Pacific NW
My #1 question would be "Do you need it to portable, like your MBP was?" or can you use it from a single location, where you ACD is. If the former, I'd consider a MacBook Air until such time you'd sell it for a future MBP. If the latter, a Mini makes a stronger bang for the buck case. If you go the mine route, a refurb 2012, even the base i5 2.5, is going to be very good for what you want to do, and you can upgrade it at your own pace (internal SSD, Thunderbolt external drives, more RAM). Either way, Head over to refurb.me set up alerts for the models that looks best for the price (usually the base configs for minis).

One thing: your ACD is a newer thunderbolt model, right? If not, and it's the older one, I assume you already have a display port to dual-link adapter.

davidg4781

macrumors 68030
Original poster