Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mikhailov

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 3, 2010
90% of the time I will probably not have a SIM card in it. I will most likely use it as a general gaming device, and Android "tinkering" device. I would try to flash jelly bean onto it etc...

I have very little experience with Android other than I really disliked it compared to my iPhone (I have all Apple products and favorite apps of mine just aren't on Android). The original Note is going down in price and I'm wondering/hoping if having one will satisfy my Android curiosity without sacrificing my iPhone 5. I don't have any upgrades and don't want to spend $700 on a Note 2, but $300 on last year's model is more reasonable.

ReanimationN

macrumors 6502a
Sep 7, 2011
Australia
Why not get a Nexus 7 instead? I have one, and don't like it, but they're only $US200 for a 16GB device and you get a bigger screen with Jelly Bean preinstalled. If you get a preowned one, you could get it for even cheaper.

You won't be able to use it as a phone, but it should satisfy your Android curiosity.

Mikhailov

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 3, 2010
It's a thought but I already have an iPad mini so it would probably not get used much. I also wouldn't mind the option to put a SIM card in if I wanted to.

hyteckit

Jul 29, 2007
Well. I have an iPhone 4S and iPad Mini.

I just got a Note 2 about 2 weeks ago. Been using it as my main phone in the last 2 weeks to give it a fair shake. About to go back to my iPhone 4S as my main phone.

I kinda expect it won't replace my iPhone 4S due to its size, but can be use as a phone on occasions.

I got it for similar reasons are you. Basically to play with Android and see what Android has to offer. Also want to play with the s-pen.