Thinking of making the BIG SWITCH!!!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mm1250, Sep 3, 2007.

1. mm1250 macrumors 6502

Hello,

I've had an iPod for years and over the past few months aftering getting my iPhone I have been debating getting a Mac for use now. I've been very happy with the iPhone, so happy I have made stock investments into AAPL stock.

My background is a computer engineer. I currently work with a IT Consulting business that works basiclly on MS Windows servers and desktops PCS. I'm a Microsoft Certified Systems Engnieer. I remember making fun of Apple back in the late 90s. (I think it was Crapintosh) It seems Apple has come a long way, the big switches from what I hear is the UNIX backend OS and the Intel chipset switchover. Bascilly making it a PC I would assume.

My question is. I've been using Windows since day 1, and I feel kind of wierd doing this. What is the real difference with the Mac OS that beats Windows? Set aside the Virus and spyware issues in windows. What's the HUGE benifit for me, I use my PC for, Internet, Music, word processing, web design with web graphic design (Dreamweaver and Fireworks), very little picture stuff. I have a whitebox dual-core Intel now and a Dell notebook.

I'm considering either the new iMac or the MacBook Pro. Also, whats with the Macbook Pros costing $2k+. I priced out HP and Dells and they are almost 25-30% cheaper for the same config!! What's with the price premimum?

2. grovertdog macrumors regular

UNIX, specifically a special derivative of FreeBSD, but definitely NOT Linux.

Seriously, you say are a MS certified engineer and you ask such banal questions? You're kidding, and the joke's on me, right?

3. NightFlight macrumors 6502

NightFlight

Way to make the guy feel welcome. :mad:

4. Unspeaked macrumors 68020

Unspeaked

From a newbie, no less!