Thinking of moving to Lightroom

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by kgphotos, Dec 2, 2018.

  1. kgphotos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    #1
    Hi everyone. I wanted to get advice and I know it’s been discussed in this forum. I am thinking of moving to Lightroom CC from Capture One. I have been using Capture One for a few years now after moving on from Aperture. (still mad that Apple killed it off but nothing I can do). Before I moved to CO, I did a lot of research on what photo program would serve my needs best- it came down to CO and Adobe. I must have DAM, and at the time didn’t like subscriptions that Adobe was offering. Now, today I am thinking of going to try Adobe Lightroom CC, considering CO upgrade price has gone up, plus I like the syncing to the cloud now that I have an iPad.

    I have some questions about Lightroom.

    1. How does LR render RAW files from a Canon 80D. One of the reasons I went with CO was because of how it renders RAW images. People that used CO said that the RAW photos were better than Lightroom. I know that may be subjective.

    2. How does Lightroom run on a 2017 with 4.2 GHz quard core with 32 Gigs RAM?

    3. Can I choose what photos to sync to the cloud or do they all get uploaded?

    4. Can I import my images from CO to Lightroom?

    5. Is there a huge learning curve moving to Lightroom from CO?

    6. What plan did you choose and why? Adobe naming scheme to me is confusing. I am looking at LR CC however there’s also the Photograpy Plan which I am thinking about. Which has the better value? I am a hobbyist photographer. I take a lot of photos daily.

    Thanks for your advice!

    -Karen
     
  2. mollyc macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    #2
    I have never used Capture One so cannot answer those specific questions. I have used LR since version 1 though and can't imagine ever not using (though I suppose one day that will come). I've also never used Aperture. I started using LR on a PC when my husband and I still shared a computer so when I moved to Mac I just stayed with all my Adobe products (and at the time had to transfer the license - this was a very long time ago!).

    1. I've used LR with two different Canon cameras and two different Nikon cameras. I've always been pleased with the raw rendering and I have my own import preset that I use for all photos. The newest version of LR has really tweaked the calibration profiles and there are a number to choose from, both from Adobe and from the camera manufacturer. I always used one of the camera profiles but this summer switched to an Adobe one and am really pleased. All that said, I've never used anything other than Lightroom raw rendering.

    2. I have the same computer you do, but with 40 GB memory. LR runs fine for the vast majority of things, but the fans will spin up for moderate import/export. Occasionally there is a bit of latency when you use an adjustment brush, but this is an Adobe issue they won't correct rather than being a computer issue. I moved from a 2012 iMac last year and performance is much better overall with the 2017 model.

    3. Yes, you can choose what photos get uploaded. I don't use much of the cloud at all unless I take a photo through LR Mobile on my phone and wait to transfer it to my computer hard drive.

    4. Don't know the answer to this one.

    5. Also can't say. I find LR very intuitive, but I've been using it since the first version so am probably not a good judge.

    6. I use the Photographer's plan for $10/month which includes access to PS, Bridge, LR CC Classic and LR CC (the mobile type version). I don't use LR CC but do use PS, LR Classic, and Bridge daily. I am also only a hobbyist.
     
  3. kgphotos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    #3
    Thank you @mollyc for your reply. I just got this iMac as an early Christmas gift from my husband- he's taking my 2013 MBP.:D What is the difference between LR CC and LR Classic? Is is just the ability to sync photos to the cloud with CC? Which one gets updated more frequently?
     
  4. mollyc macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    #4
    They both get updated on a regular basis but the Classic version is much more powerful. The mobile version I think is more for photographers who do a lot of phone or photography or people who do a lot of editing on a iPad. I like desktop editing and only have an ancient iPad mini that I barely use so I avoid LR mobile.
     
  5. kgphotos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    #5
    Ok, gotcha thanks. I'm on Adobe's site now comparing products. I wish they gave a longer trial period. Seven days is way too short.
     
  6. kgphotos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    #6
    I downloaded both Lightroom CC and Classic. What is a good starting point to learning this software? Books?
     
  7. JullsJTRIRE macrumors member

    JullsJTRIRE

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    Location:
    I`m in Washington DC
    #7
    Lightroom have been a real discovery for me, I hadn`t known about this program until I called in on this forum, the app`s cool, thanks! Raw rendering is what I was really amazed at in a good sense ) Cool!
     
  8. robgendreau macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #8
    For learning, check out https://www.lightroomqueen.com/lightroom-cc-vs-classic-features/ and the forum and books there. Great resource. I'd concentrate on Classic; more full-featured, more learning materials, easier to switch from C1 there (I used C1 for a while so had to move some stuff to Lr; mostly just exported TIFFs). J Kost's stuff is great for learning (lots of videos), and check out Lightroom Coffee Break on YouTube (super short lessons on just one thing at a time).

    I tend to think of Lr CC as a desktop version of the mobile Lr CC app. I synch stuff there from Classic if I wanna mess around with it on another computer adjustment-wise (doing metadata like captions and keywords stinks; don't bother using CC for that). Or as a way to share or view. The advantage of using smart previews synching from Classic to CC is that they don't count against the storage total. You choose which collections sync, so you have a lot of control from Classic.
     
  9. kgphotos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    #9
    Hi @robgendreau . How did you get your C1 photos into LR? I’m leaning towards the Photography Plan. I just have to figure out the syncing part. Like which photos to sync from the desktop of LR to the cloud based LR. How do you go about doing that? Also which phone apps do I get? I know I need the LR CC app- do I also need the Creative Cloud app too?

    Thanks
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    Lightroom CC has less features (at least that last time I checked), its really the cloud based solution. Its geared to uploading and using Adobe's cloud, which of course you'll have to pay for extra storage. Classic is the traditional desktop app that we've all come to love and revile :p

    I don't use the newer CC version but I use the current classic if that makes sense. To put it another way, I'm not cloud based and I don't need to use LR on an iPad or iPhone.

    Yes it does, though you should check it out, so you're happy with the results.

    Very well, people have complained how its not fully optimized and can be a bit poky, but I found performance on my 2012 rMBP to be adaquate and its even better on newer hardware.

    I believe you will need import photos in stages, those that go to the cloud and those that you choose another location.


    Not directly, you'll need to export either the masters or your edited versions. What I recommend is using both apps as you transition, so you have access to the your current library and your newer stuff in LR. Plus it gives you time to get the older stuff into LR if you so choose.

    [/quote]
    I've only played with C1 in the past, but I found the learning curve to be there going from LR to C1, so I have to imagine if you're extremely knowledgeable with the ins and outs of C1, then it will be an adjustment switching.

    All in all, I found LR to be more robust in its DAM capability, with a richer set of image organization tools, and its editing capabilities exceeds what's available to C1. I'm not say that C1 is inferior but Lr does offer a richer environment. The inclusion of plugins also extends the power of LR.
     
  11. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #11
    If you have Aperture doing a managed library where the raw files are inside database and you only do logical groupings of Projects, Albums......you need to learn about referenced libraries. In a referenced library all images go into folders and subfolders in the file system. When you import into Lr you set up rules to tell Lr how you want it to organize and create the folders. I use a folder for the year and subfolders for each shoot date. I also have Lr rename the images when they are imported using the camera body serial number and a 4 digit sequence number. You need to plan how you want your images organized before you start any transfer.

    Once the images are in folders and subfolders, you can use Lr to create Collections and Collection Sets which are logical containers to provide another way of sorting the images. An image can only be in one folder; however, it can be in several Collections or Collection Sets.

    There are lots of training videos on Youtube about Lr's Library and migrating from Aperture to Lr. You definitely move all your original files. If you want to have a copy of an edited image, then you export it as a TIF. In Lr you import both the original and the TIF.
     
  12. r.harris1 macrumors 6502a

    r.harris1

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    #12
    Karen, I think you'll find that LR will produce images every bit as good as C1. The journey from start to the finished image may be a bit different but they're both great tools. I've never warmed to LR but that's merely personal on my part. I have the full adobe plan as part of my work so I do poke at it every now and then.

    If you are looking at an all-in-one digital asset manager and editor, LR is a great choice, not the least reason of which is that they've been doing it a long time and there's a wealth of learning material out there. And I'd go for the photography plan for $10/mth - it gives you the most bang for the buck. Having access to photoshop, among other things, is a good asset.

    Because Phase and Adobe's raw engines are different, your import process will be export TIFFs from C1, import into LR.

    I think the great thing is that we're spoiled for choice these days! Personally, I'm looking forward to Photo Mechanic's next release (in theory later this year, not holding breath). They're the first thing in my import workflow - wickedly fast, auto-backups to multiple locations, I've found nothing better at key-wording, culling, etc. Because that's essentially my DAM, from there I can go anywhere - in general it's Photos (!) with good extensions for local edits but for special projects or difficult images, I do use C1.

    I do like the print module of LR and will use at least that part more frequently when I get my new printer in a few days as an early present.
     
  13. fcortese macrumors demi-god

    fcortese

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Big Sky country
    #13
    I am an enthusiast/hobbyist and have both Lr Classic and CC but never use CC (the cloud based app). I have the $10 Photography plan with Lr + PS. Lr Classic has so many powerful editing tools and its DAM system I find very appealing. I switched from Aperture when Apple introduced Photos instead of really upgrading Aperture and have never looked back. As has been mentioned there are a wealth of places to go for learning how to use Lr. From adobe's YouTube page, Terry White's youtube page, Scott Kelby's Kelbyone youtube page or even joining KelbyOne (but it is another expense which you may not to want to do) , etc. In Lr classic there is the Folder section which is the DAM set up of your RAW images, best managed with housing your photos on an external HD but leaving your catalogue (which basically is the instructions on changes you've made to the RAW files) on your computer's HD. And there is the Collections section where I find I am doing more and more of my work from and I will transition to using it totally, rather than working through the Folders section, by the end go this year. If you feel you're not quite getting enough education from youtube sites you might want to consider Kelbyone which you can try free. Here is Scott Kelby's latest advice on using Lr Classic:


    I hope this helps rather than confuses.
     
  14. kgphotos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    #14
    Thanks for your help. Just out of curiosity how do you export your TIFFs? I do 16 bit.

    @fcortese thank you for the suggestions. I have some learning to do.
     
  15. comptr macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
  16. kgphotos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    #16
    I've tried Luminar- wasn't impressed. No DAM either, yes it's promised- but I don't think it will come close to LR.
     
  17. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #17
    Based on the demos I have seen, the DAM in Luminar 3...Luminar with Library....is not so much. The DAM is not nearly as full featured and flexible as Lr, Bridge, C1P, PhotoMechanic, and others. Skylum talks about more DAM releases during 2019. I supposed we will all know more when they release Luminar 3 on the 18th.
     
  18. r.harris1 macrumors 6502a

    r.harris1

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    #18
    Yes indeed, 16 bit TIFFs for me as well.
     
  19. Macowner2.0 Suspended

    Macowner2.0

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2018
    Location:
    USA
    #19
    Talking about Skylum's products. I have found the review of Luminar and as it was stated - best photo editing software for mac. But my attention was drawn by their Photolemur new product. It's noted that Photolemur uses AI to improve photos making the editing - a one-click action. Has somebody tried it?
     
  20. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #20
    Photolemur is made by Skylum. Not surprised to find AI techniques in both products.
     
  21. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #21
    Photolemur can be useful in some situations, but not all of them..... I find that I still prefer to work in Luminar, where I have more control over what I want to do with my images......

    I suspect that for the snapshooter and selfies crowd Photolemur can be useful and a lot of fun. For serious editing....no.
     
  22. bunnspecial macrumors 604

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #22
    FWIW, I use Lightroom 6(which received its last update this year...I should be good to go for when I eventually get a Nikon D850, but I'm out of luck with anything I would care about that's newer than that), although from the few times I've tried CC(classic) it's mostly just a tweaked/massaged/improved version of what was started with 6. Truthfully, at one point I was using Lightroom 2 and LR 6 side by side, and while there were some differences(and some features in 2 that I really missed) I mostly found the workflow to be the same.

    I'm a Nikon user now and mostly use three different cameras depending on my needs-a D3s, D600, and D800. In the past, I used a Canon DRebel XS. I also throw some oddball cameras at it from time to time-I actually use my Fujifilm Finepix S5 in the studio some still(I love its DR and color rendering)-this is a c.2006 DSLR that is basically a Fuji SuperCCD(a weird construction with two pixels per photosite arranged in a honeycomb pattern) in a Nikon D200 body. I dust off some older Nikon DSLRs at times too, going back to the original D1, and also occasionally a Kodak DCS 14/n(a Nikon N80 body as a base with a 14mp FF CMOS sensor and a bunch of Kodak electronics).

    Lightroom handles everything I throw at it gracefully. The S5 is the only Fuji DSLR I use as anything more than a curiosity, but on all of them it's able to make sense(and take advantage of) the R and S pixels to increase DR and also, IMO, does a better job interpolating up to Fuji's stated resolution than using SOOC JPEGs or the Fuji software.

    Basically, I'd describe Adobe's RAW engine, in my experience, as always being at least as good as and in most cases being better than the camera maker's RAW converter.

    I've only played with C1 a bit in passing, but found the workflow to be somewhat different than LR. With that said, the basic LR workflow is easy enough to get down, and of course from there it's a matter of just learning how to do whatever manipulations you want to do. I'm not as good about using the cataloging and sorting functions as I should be, but I found things like flagging to at first be a bit cumbersome until I learned the KB shortcuts(btw, cmd+P "picks" or flags in LR, which is reasonably intuitive, so I don't know why I had issues with that). I only scratch the surface of what it's capable of, though, and of course tutorials are always valuable for learning specific things.

    One last thing-my main computer is a mid-2012 15" MBP(non-retina) with a quad 2.3ghz i7 and 16gb of RAM. It handles D800 files gracefully, with importing being the only real bottleneck(36mp files that run 70-80mb each). That got sped up a lot when I bought some good CF cards and the nifty little Lexar USB 3.0 "pop up" combo SD/CF card reader.

    One of these days, I'd like to get all my photos cataloged and stored on my mid-2012 12-core 3.06ghz Mac Pro with 32gb RAM. Still, though, I suspect importing will be the bottleneck there. If I buy the D4 I'm looking at at the local camera shop, I'll be interested in playing with XQD cards and seeing if they make a difference in import speed(provided that I can stomach shelling out the current prices for them given that I have a good collection of large and fast CFs).
     
  23. Macowner2.0 Suspended

    Macowner2.0

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2018
    Location:
    USA
    #23
    Thx, will use the trial. Honestly, I hoped it'd do all the editing for me )
     
  24. robgendreau macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #24
    I exported TIFFs. But since I still had the raws, I re-did many of the them in Lr or Ps. At the time C1's photo organizing was rather blah, so didn't miss much there. I imagine you could write that to files or sidecars and then Lr would import and apply it.

    I use both Classic and CC. Mostly Classic; I sync some images in Classic to the cloud and hence to CC for occasional image adjusting work, either with a laptop when I'm away, or an iPad if I want to use a Pencil. And I also synch a bunch of images for gallery-type purposes, like posting on Adobe's web so others can view, comment and download them.

    Install the Lr CC app. I can't even recall if there's a separate Creative Cloud app; if there is, I don't use it.
     
  25. kgphotos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    #25
    Thanks everyone for your replies. Learning a lot from this forum. Everyone is helpful here.
     

Share This Page

24 December 2, 2018