iPad Pro Thinking of using 12.9" iPad Pro to supplement home office?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Saturn1217, Jun 1, 2016.

1. Saturn1217 macrumors 6502a

I'm hoping iPad Pro owners can give me a little advice. I apologize for writing another one of those Should I buy threads...

My situation: I just bought a 32gb 12" iPad Pro off Amazon. I have probably 24hrs to decide to cancel or not (I'd rather not have to return it). I originally thought the 12" iPad Pro was WAY too big and wasn't interested in it but then my job situation changed and I think the 12" iPad Pro could provide a good solution.

I'm switching soon from working in the office (I am a medical/technical writer) to working 100% remotely at home (because I will be living in another state from the company I work for). At the office I generally generate TONs of paper waste. I've got about 10 legal pads floating around half filled with meeting notes. My desk is filled with old drafts and discard journal articles. The new apartment I'll be moving to is tiny. No dedicated home office. I will just be converting a corner of the living room to my home office. I DO NOT WANT tons of paper cluttering up that space and I don't want to spend my own money printing out tons of paper and buying note pads all the time.

I am thinking that the 12.9" iPad Pro could help me avoid this clutter by acting as a replacement for paper. I would use it to take meeting notes, mark up drafts and highlight articles and textbooks chapters that I read for my research. I have an iPad Air now and I already know that the 9.7" screen size isn't really ideal for most double column scientific journal articles. It works, but I generally need to crop margins in order for the enter page to be viewable at a comfortable font size. I also feel like when I have gone to the Apple store to test out the apple pencil it worked better (less lag) on the 12.9" Pro than the 9.7".