Thinning out Lion

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by JSMencer, Jul 12, 2011.

1. JSMencer macrumors regular

So what files can we delete to thin down Lion?

2. joelovesapple macrumors 6502a

joelovesapple

Thinning out might risk messing everything up if you're not careful.

3. Paulywauly macrumors 6502a

Paulywauly

You could delete any unnecessary apps, but if you try it you'll notice Lion usues alot less hard drive space than Snow Leopard so it might not be necessary

4. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Its probably safer to get a larger HD then trying to save a few megabytes and potentially cause stability problems.

5. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

Perhaps someone can confirm whether a custom install whereby you designate the install to skip all language packs aside from the ones you truly need and use is possible. That will "thin" out the install size as it has in the past. Whether this is possible is unknown as I'm not a developer, a person who obtained the OS through alternative channels, or able to publicly buy it.

6. jschmitt macrumors member

jschmitt

Jessica -
    As someone who does have access to the GM, this was one of the first things I was looking to do; Although there was a "Customize" option in the installer for the GM, I was unable to select it - and as a result found no direct way to remove language packs; In addition, one of my favorite tools under Leopard & SL [MonoLingual] did not seem to work properly under Lion.

I will however say, that I am impressed by the size footprint of Lion when a clean install is done. The footprint was about 5.75 GB for the default install; This number does not however include the size of the sleepimage that will be created by the installer. This sleepimage is related directly to the amount of RAM that your machine has. So for my 8GB MBP, the TOTAL footprint was ~ 9.75GB and for my 8GB 17in MBP, it is ~ 14GB.

John

7. WiLLGT09 macrumors regular

WiLLGT09

Code: