"This application quit unexpectedly"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ajax, May 7, 2007.

  1. Ajax macrumors newbie

    Ajax

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    #1
    The other day I went to change my background, but when I right click and select "change desktop background", I get this "application quit unexpectedly" message. It happens every time, and I have no idea why. Then I was browsing this website, and it closed firefox on me with the same error. What the heck is my macbook doing?! Thanks...
     
  2. g7by08believeit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    CA
    #2
    it's broked.

    best way to resolve would be clamping the case around a metal shaft and burn out all the bugs over a hot camp fire.


    or, try resetting PRAM and all the jazz.
     
  3. Ajax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Ajax

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    #3
    Question mark

    well...I just got my mac a few weeks ago, so unfortunately I have no idea how to do that.


    edit: okay, i googled and found out how to reset the PRAM. but it's still not letting me change the background. any other suggestions?
     
  4. g7by08believeit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    CA
    #4
    Any idea what application is apparently quitting?
     
  5. Ajax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Ajax

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    #5
    when i try to change the background, it says the system preferences quit unexpectedly. when firefox closed, it said firefox quit unexpectedly.
     
  6. g7by08believeit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    CA
    #6
    did you try hitting the "try again" or "reopen" buttons when it does this?
    Reopen will most likely not work given what you've said, but "try again" temporarily changes the application prefs to its default setttings. See if that works.

    If not, here are a few suggestions:
    -make sure your Mac is up-to-date
    -Run the Apple Hardware Test(pop in your OSX disc for this) and it'll let you know if you've got any hardware at fault
    -Use Disk Utility (in your applications folder) to repair the disk
     
  7. Ajax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Ajax

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    #7
    weird...I thought I tried "reopen" before, but i must not have as it's working now. thanks alot!

    edit: dang, i thought that fixed it. now i can open desktop settings, and change background. but if i select screensaver, and try to change the screensaver, it won't save the changes. and it will also close sometimes when trying to change screensaver. i guess it doesn't really matter, as when i'm not using it i just close the lid anyway. it's just anoying. should i try those other solutions you suggested before?
     
  8. MajereXYU macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    #8
    You may have defective RAM.

    Have you installed or had installed 3rd party RAM?

    If so, it may be defective.

    To make sure, remove the 3rd party stick and see if you still have problems with only the stock RAM in.

    You may also have a some corrupted system files. You can try repairing permissions with Disk Utility.

    If all else fails and you're certain your RAM is not defective, I would do an Archive and Install (put installation disk in and reboot).

    Keep us updated!
     
  9. snowmoon macrumors 6502a

    snowmoon

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    #9
    Do you have an Apple store locally? Bring it to the genius bar and have then take a look.
     
  10. g7by08believeit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    CA
    #10

    As a few others have also said, it'd be best to do a few checks. run disk utility and repair permissions and pop in the install dvd to run the hardware test (to check for defective ram).

    good luck! :)
     
  11. Ajax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Ajax

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    #11
    i didn't put any new ram in, so that should be okay. but i'll run the checks aforementioned and let ya'll know what the outcome is. thanks so far...


    edit: and no, there arn't any apple stores around here unfortunately.

    edit: okay, last night i ran the disk repar thing, and it said it did, but that didn't help any. i haven't got a chance to use the OX disk yet to scan the hardware yet.
     

Share This Page