This deal or Haswell rMBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by BAMitUp, Jul 17, 2013.

1. BAMitUp macrumors newbie

So I've been tracking local Best Buys for open box rMBPs to see what deals I could get and came across a rMBP that has:
    • 15"
    • i7 2.7GHZ
    • 16GB RAM
    • 512GB SSD
    • "Excellent" condition

The standing price for the machine is $2399 (off of $2799) and I went ahead and sent an email to the manager and offered to pay $1950 because I'm a student and really need the machine (of which is all true).

He agreed. So now I think I'm getting a good deal on the machine but I don't know if it's worth buying now or waiting till Haswell and buying then (I really want wireless AC). My gut feeling is to buy it and then sell it on Craigslist later for probably at cost ($2141 after taxes), but wanted to gauge your thoughts.

Thanks!

2. jread macrumors regular

That is an incredible deal. I'd buy it. You can always sell it later for more than you paid for it if you decide you want a Haswell 15".

3. tgi macrumors 65816

tgi

Nice one. So you can haggle BB open box items? Or is it pretty at the descretion of the manager cause I always thought the prices were non negotiable.

4. Agent-P macrumors 68030

Agent-P

I agree with jread. Buy it for that price and sell it later if you like what comes from the Haswell update better.

5. Virginaustralia macrumors regular

Nice! get it now! thats an amazing deal! i have a 17" laptop though with better specs that i got for only $1099 (no discounts) so if youre not set on having a macbook (like i used to be) then let me know if youre interested :cool:

UPDATE: (the name of it and specs are in my signature)

6. IndoX macrumors regular

Speaking as a former best buy employee, the max amount you can get off an open box item is 30%. However, they normally won't price an open box item 30% off - majority of the time the people who get 30% off are employees.

7. jafingi macrumors 65816

jafingi